2021 Activity

AMAN and Palestinian Anti-Corruption Commission celebrate completion of the Local Government Unit Empowerment Programme

AMAN and Palestinian Anti-Corruption Commission celebrate completion of the Local Government Unit Empowerment Programme

Ramallah – In partnership with the Palestinian Anti-Corruption Commission (PACC), the Coalition for Accountability and Integrity (AMAN) celebrated the successful completion of the Local Government Unit (LGU) Empowerment Programme, which highlighted the need to promote community engagement in the preparation of estimated budgets and monitoring of municipal actual expenditure. To this avail, a procedure manual was developed to incorporate the principles of governance, transparency, and integrity into LGU planning and budgeting processes.

Mr. Issam Haj Hussein, AMAN Executive Director, asserted that “local government is among the key sectors that experience major challenges, mainly the Israeli occupation and budget deficits.” In Palestinian society, the phenomenon of familism also impacts municipal functions. Hussein made clear that these challenges require the strengthening and concerting of official, civil society, and community efforts to ensure a transparent distribution of limited resources and fair division of labour. Hussein stressed the importance of the partnership with the PACC in developing and implementing the LGU Empowerment Programme.

Mr. Jamal al-Naqqash, PACC Deputy Director, explained that “the programme is a significant, strategic project that can be built upon.” It falls within the framework of implementing the National Cross-cutting Strategy for Integrity and Fight against Corruption. Mr. Al-Naqqash also stated that trainees gained considerable experience, which would contribute to, and positively reflect on, their direct relationships with the public as well as the quality of service provision.

Al-Naqqash expressed his thanks to all those who contributed to the success of the programme. “The PACC seeks to reach out to Palestinian society from across the spectrum in order to promote the system of transparency, integrity, and accountability,” he concluded.

Ms. Intesar Hamdan, Director of Awareness Raising and Community Outreach, AMAN, reviewed key recommendations and findings of the programme. Participants stressed the need for similar workshops to raise the competence of LGU staff to strengthen the governance system and contribute to preventing the risk of corruption.

Worth of note is that the LGU Empowerment Programme targeted 11 central municipalities in northern, central, and southern West Bank. Involving 95 participants, the programme was designed to empower and provide capacity building to LGU staff, reinforce the values of integrity, transparency, and accountability, improve anti-corruption measures, and raise awareness of the importance of the fight against corruption.

At the close of the celebration, a film produced by the PACC premiered, featuring the LGU Empowerment Programme as well as its objectives and content. Certificates were also awarded to participants.

نشاطات 2021

ائتلاف أمان وهيئة مكافحة الفساد تحتفلان باختتام برنامج تمكين الهيئات المحلية

ائتلاف أمان وهيئة مكافحة الفساد تحتفلان باختتام برنامج تمكين الهيئات المحلية

رام الله- احتفل الائتلاف من أجل النزاهة والمساءلة (أمان) بالشراكة مع هيئة مكافحة الفساد باختتام برنامج تمكين الهيئات المحلية، والذي تم من خلاله تسليط الضوء على ضرورة تعزيز المشاركة المجتمعية في عملية إعداد الموازنات التقديرية ومتابعة الإنفاق الفعلي في البلديات عبر إعداد دليل إجرائي لتضمين مبادئ الحوكمة والشفافية والنزاهة في عملية التخطيط وإعداد الموازنات التقديرية في الهيئات المحلية.

من جانبه، أشار المدير التنفيذي لائتلاف أمان أ. عصام الحج حسين، أن قطاع الحكم المحلي يعتبر من أبرز القطاعات التي تعاني من تحديات مختلفة، أبرزها الاحتلال والعجز بالموازنات، بالإضافة إلى ظاهرة العائلية في المجتمع الفلسطيني والتي تؤثر على عمل البلديات. وأوضح حسين أن هذه التحديات تستوجب تعزيز وتوحيد الجهود الرسمية والأهلية والمجتمعية، لضمان توزيع هذه الموارد المحدودة بشكل بشفافية، وتوزيع الأعباء بعدالة، وشدد على أهمية الشراكة مع هيئة مكافحة الفساد في إعداد وتنفيذ هذا البرنامج.

وبدوره أوضح نائب رئيس هيئة مكافحة الفساد أ. جمال القاش، أن البرنامج المذكور يعتبر مشروعا استراتيجيا كبيرا يُبنى عليه، موضحاً أنه يندرج في إطار تنفيذ الاستراتيجية الوطنية عبر القطاعية لتعزيز النزاهة ومكافحة الفساد. وأشار أيضا أنه قد منح المتدربين خبرات كبيرة سوف تساهم وتنعكس إيجابياً على علاقتهم المباشرة بالجمهور، ونوعية الخدمات المقدمة لهم.

وشكر أ. القاش كل من ساهم في إنجاح هذا البرنامج، مؤكداً بأن الهيئة تسعى للوصول إلى مختلف شرائح المجتمع الفلسطيني، لتعزيز منظومة الشفافية والنزاهة والمساءلة.

بدورها استعرضت مديرة وحدة الرصد والدراسات في ائتلاف أمان أ. انتصار حمدان أبرز التوصيات والاستخلاصات العامة من البرنامج. فيما أكد المشاركون على أهمية عقد ورشات عمل مشابهة لرفع كفاءة العاملين في الهيئات المحلية في تعزيز منظومة الحوكمة والمساهمة في درء مخاطر الفساد.

الجدير ذكره أن البرنامج المذكور كان قد استهدف 11 بلدية مركزية من محافظات شمال وجنوب ووسط الضفة الغربية، وشارك به 95 موظفا، وهدف إلى تمكين وبناء قدرات الموظفين وتعزيز قيم النزاهة والشفافية ونظم المساءلة لديهم، وتطوير الإجراءات المانعة للفساد ورفع وعيهم بأهمية مكافحته. 

وفي الختام عرض فيلم من إنتاج هيئة مكافحة الفساد حول البرنامج وأهدافه ومحتواه، وتم توزيع الشهادات على المشاركين.

خبر مشترك مع هيئة مكافحة الفساد