2021 Activity

Central Elections Commission: CEC has the right to stop official broadcast of any media material that includes electoral propaganda of a specific party

Central Elections Commission: CEC has the right to stop official broadcast of any media material that includes electoral propaganda of a specific party

In AMAN’s session on impartial official media during electoral campaigns in the Gaza Strip

Central Elections Commission: CEC has the right to stop official broadcast of any media material that includes electoral propaganda of a specific party

 

Gaza – AMAN Coalition for Integrity and Accountability held a session on impartial official media during electoral campaigns in the Gaza Strip with participation of CEC and Governmental News Office in the Gaza Strip.

The session aimed to reiterate the importance of compliance of state media and publicly funded media with the principles of integrity, neutrality, justice and equal opportunities in their coverage of electoral lists during the electoral campaigns. It underlined that no state logistic or human resources may be used to serve a particular electoral list’s interests.

All candidates have the right to campaigning within the boundaries prescribed in the law

Jameel Al-Khalidi, Regional CEC Director in the Gaza Strip, reiterated that electoral campaigns represent an important election preparation phase. The explained that CEC is exerting full effort to enforce the time schedule of the lections in spite of concerns about its possible postponement. Al-Khalidi pointed out that electoral propaganda is a right to all candidates provided that they respect the time ceilings. They can exercise this right in full freedom regulated by the law. He confirmed that the campaigns shall span the period from 30 April to 20 May and that they must respect CEC procedures and controls, including abstaining from influencing voters, using public spaces or bypassing the $ 1 million funding ceiling. All sources of funding must be local without any interference of foreign entities.

CEC signs an agreement with official media to ensure compliance with the law and impartiality

Al-Khalidi announced in the session that CEC has signed an agreement with official media to ensure it complies with the law and principles of impartiality. He mentioned that CEC has the right to stop any official media broadcast if it contains propaganda for a specific party. CEC is the only official reference for elections-related news. Official media must cover CEC’s activities in the management of the electoral process. Al-Khalidi mentioned that CEC is cooperating with official media to prepare awareness and educational programs on elections and it encourages lists to use the free broadcast time on official media. CEC is preparing the time schedule for free broadcast to cover elections.

Media institutions in the Gaza Strip sign a code of honor to set the ground for election integrity promoting media

The Head of the Government News Office in Gaza, Mr. Salamah Maarof, reiterated the Office’s commitment to the provisions of the law on elections and pointed out that a circular has been issued to comply with integrity principles and guarantees in coverage of elections on governmental media outlets and to set the ground for election integrity promoting media.

Maarouf added that a media code of honor has been prepared and agreed upon with CEC. It was discussed with media outlets in the Gaza Strip, which later on signed it to confirm their compliance with the principles and obligations set forth in this code. Participants in the session reiterated CEC’s oversight role of digital media and social networks platforms as they are the channels that influence most public opinion.

نشاطات 2021

لجنة الانتخابات المركزية: اللجنة لها الحق في وقف بث الإعلام الرسمي لأي مواد إعلامية تتضمن دعاية انتخابية لجهة محددة

 لجنة الانتخابات المركزية: اللجنة لها الحق في وقف بث الإعلام الرسمي لأي مواد إعلامية تتضمن دعاية انتخابية لجهة محددة

في جلسة عقدها ائتلاف أمان حول حيادية الإعلام الرسمي وقت الدعاية الانتخابية في قطاع غزة

لجنة الانتخابات المركزية: اللجنة لها الحق في وقف بث الإعلام الرسمي لأي مواد إعلامية تتضمن دعاية انتخابية لجهة محددة

غزة- عقد الائتلاف من أجل النزاهة والمساءلة- أمان جلسة استماع حول حيادية الإعلام الرسمي وقت الدعاية الانتخابية في قطاع غزة، وذلك بمشاركة لجنة الانتخابات المركزية ومكتب الإعلام الحكومي في القطاع.

استهلت الجلسة بتأكيد ائتلاف أمان على أهمية التزام إعلام الدولة، والإعلام المموّل من الخزينة العامة بمعايير النزاهة والحيادية والعدالة وتكافؤ الفرص في التغطية الإعلامية لكافة القوائم المرشحة إبان مرحلة الدعاية الانتخابية، وشدد بدوره على أهمية وضرورة عدم استخدام موارد الدولة اللوجستية والبشرية لصالح أي قائمة انتخابية.

لكافة المرشحين الحق في ممارسة الدعاية الانتخابية شرط أن يضبطها القانون

وقد أكد جميل الخالدي، المدير الإقليمي للجنة الانتخابات المركزية في قطاع غزة، على أن مرحلة الدعاية الانتخابية تعتبر أهم مراحل التحضير للانتخابات، وأن اللجنة تعمل بكل جهد على تنفيذ الجدول الزمني الخاص بالتحضير للانتخابات على أكمل وجه، بالرغم من التخوف من احتمالية تأجيلها. وقد أشار الخالدي الى أن الدعاية الانتخابية حقّ قانوني لكافة المرشحين، يكون مسقوف المدة، ويمكن ممارسته بكامل الحرية شرط أن يضبطه القانون، مؤكداً أن الفترة الزمنية للدعاية تبدأ في 30 نيسان/ابريل وتنتهي يوم 20 أيار/ مايو، وتكون ملزمة بالإجراءات التي وضعتها لجنة الانتخابات، موضحاً أن أهم الضوابط تتمثل في عدم التأثير على الناخبين، وعدم استخدام الأماكن العامة، إضافة الى عدم تجاوز سقف الدعاية الانتخابية التمويلي مليون دولار، وأن تكون مصادر التمويل محلية، بدون تدخل جهات أجنبية.

لجنة الانتخابات المركزية توقع اتفاقية مع الإعلام الرسمي لضمان إلزامه بمواد القانون ومبادئ الحياد

وقد أعلن الخالدي في الجلسة، أن لجنة الانتخابات المركزية قد وقعت اتفاقية مع الإعلام الرسمي، لضمان إلزامه بمواد القانون ومبادئ الحياد، منوّهاً أن اللجنة لها الحق في وقف بث الإعلام الرسمي لأي برامج أو مواد إعلامية تتضمن دعاية انتخابية لجهة محددة، إذ تعتبر اللجنة هي المرجعية الوحيدة والرسمية للأخبار المرتبطة بالانتخابات، وعلى الإعلام الرسمي تغطية أنشطة اللجنة أثناء إدارة العملية الانتخابية. وقد أعلن الخالدي أيضا أن لجنة الانتخابات تعد مع الإعلام الرسمي برامج توعوية وتثقيفية خاصة بالانتخابات، وتشجع بدورها كل قائمة على بث إعلان مجاني في الإعلام الرسمي، كما أنها تقوم بإعداد برنامج زمني للإعلام الحر لتغطية الانتخابات.

توقيع المؤسسات الإعلامية في القطاع على ميثاق الشرف لتهيئة المناخ الإعلامي المعزز لنزاهة الانتخابات

فيما أكد رئيس مكتب الإعلام الحكومي بغزة، السيد سلامة معروف، التزام مكتب الإعلام الحكومي بكل أحكام القانون الخاص بالعملية الانتخابية، مشيراً أنه قد تم إصدار وتعميم قرار إداري يلزم بمبادئ وضمانات النزاهة في تغطية الانتخابات على وسائل الاعلام الرسمية الحكومية، وذلك لتهيئة البيئة والمناخ الإعلامي المعزز لنزاهة الانتخابات.

وأكمل معروف حول إعداد مكتب الإعلام الحكومي ميثاق شرف إعلامي، تم التوافق عليه والإعلان عنه بحضور لجنة الانتخابات المركزية، ونقاشه مع المؤسسات الإعلامية في القطاع التي وقعت عليه بعدها، مؤكدة على التزامها بما جاء فيه من مبادئ والتزامات ومحظورات.

فيما أجمع المشتركون في الورشة على أهمية التفات لجنة الانتخابات المركزية وأهمية رقابتها على الإعلام الرقمي ومنصات التواصل المجتمعية، كونها أكثر القنوات تأثيرا على آراء المواطنين.

#لأن_الوطن_غالي

#صوتك_مساءلة

#انتخاباتنا_بنزاهة_بشفافية_بحيادية