Civil Society Team for Enhancing Public Budget Transparency demands that the Palestinian government maintain governance, and prevent waste, of public finance

Civil Society Team for Enhancing Public Budget Transparency demands that the Palestinian government maintain governance, and prevent waste, of public finance

Ramallah – The Civil Society Team for Enhancing Public Budget Transparency (“Team”) held an emergency meeting to discuss the recent situation in light of the Law by Decree No. 4 of 2020 Amending the Law on the Honoraria and Salaries of Members of the Legislative Council, Members of the Government and Governors No. 11 of 2004 and Law by Decree No. 12 of 2020 Amending the Law on Public Retirement No. 7 of 2006 as Amended. The Team recommended that the government-initiated policy of transparency be promoted. It also stressed the need for consultation with civil society when any measures, procedures or regulations in relation to public interest are enacted. As these reflect on public financial management, public consultation prevents risks arising from inaction of the Palestinian Legislative Council.

The Team demanded that, after the coronavirus (COVID-19) crisis comes to an end, the Law on the Honoraria and Salaries of Members of the Legislative Council, Members of the Government and Governors No. 11 of 2004 be revisited. The review process will take account of the recommendations made by relevant actors, including the Team. The mechanisms applied to making the aforesaid laws by decrees need to be reconsidered. The persons responsible for passing both enactments will be held to account. Issued in disregard of the government policy and state of emergency, these regulations have caused considerable damage to community safety and were detrimental to the public trust recently placed in public officials.

The Team commended the government’s rapid intervention to repeal the laws by decrees in response to civil society demands and recommendations. It was suspected that some persons had fraudulently passed these regulations with the aim of accessing special privileges during the current state of emergency. Disrupting normality within society, these officials breached the (emergency) principles laid out by government decisions as well as the controls outlined in this year’s emergency budget. The latter puts in place mechanisms for financial decision making and obliges all public officials to control and rationalise expenditures with a view to coping with, and fulfilling the purpose of, the state of emergency.

In its statement, the Team highlighted a set of principles, stressing that the said laws by decrees were in contrariety with the Emergency Law. Both regulations waste and misuse public money. In line with the priorities approved by the Council of Ministers and based on the Minister of Finance’s recommendation, the enactments run counter to the Emergency Law, which confirms the principle of cash rationing. The process by which the laws by decrees were passed reflects an attempt to seek illicit gains by a particular group of power holders at the expense of the public interest. It indicates that both regulations involved circumvention by the persons who proposed them. In addition to heightened prevention, the Emergency Law prescribes aggravated penalties against any person who abuses the state of emergency for personal interests.

The Law by Decree No. 4 of 2002 provides for exempting persons appointed in the grade of ministers and chair public institutions, as well as those alike, from paying respective subscriptions to the Pension Fund and restoring all subscriptions they already paid. According to the Team, this provision could have deprived the Pension Fund from the contributions and subscriptions paid by both the public servants and the state, amounting to 22 percent of the public wage bill. According to initial estimates, this law by decree would have exempted dozens of public officials from paying subscriptions, depriving the Pension Fund from huge amounts that could be used for investment. To ensure pension payments, pension funds collect, and capitalise on, subscriptions from public servants by means of investments.

As put by the statement, a scenario involving a retroactive recovery of subscriptions over many years would increase the deficit of the Pension Fund, which would become potentially insolvent and incapable of paying retirement benefits to public servants. Also, paying retirement benefits to entitled persons from the public treasury would increase expenditures, contributing to a further budget deficit. It is worth noting that, according to statements by the Prime Minister, the 2020 budget is already crippled by a financial deficit of over NIS 5 billion. The law by decree could have caused damage to the government stated policy on expenditure control.

The Team is also of the view that the Law by Decree No. 12 of 2020 would have raised the age of retirement by five years to 65, granting a privilege to the said group of public officials. This would have indirectly increased expenditures. Needless to say, the more the working years are, the higher the salary grows. In respect of the relevant public officials, a salary increase for an additional five-year period would have exacerbated the burden on the public treasury in terms of both salaries and retirement benefits. It also involves discrimination among public servants, favouring a particular group, namely, servants in the grade of ministers who chair non-ministerial government bodies.

Earlier, the Team had raised the issue of the Pension Fund and released reports on its financial position. The Fund is affected by a deficit and owes more than NIS 8.2 billion in debt from the public treasury. The Team submitted necessary recommendations to consolidate the Pension Fund management, address accumulating debts, and ensure sustainable operation. This requires that these recommendations to be taken into account and examined.

 

To read the position paper, click here (Available in arabic only)

نشاطات 2020

الفريق الأهلي يطالب الحكومة الفلسطينية بالحفاظ على حوكمة المال العام ومنع إهداره

الفريق الأهلي يطالب الحكومة الفلسطينية بالحفاظ على حوكمة المال العام ومنع إهداره

رام الله- عقد الفريق الأهلي لدعم شفافية الموازنة العامة اجتماعا طارئا، لمناقشة ما آل اليه الوضع مؤخراً على ضوء القرار بقانون رقم 4 لسنة 2020 بشأن تعديل قانون مكافآت ورواتب أعضاء المجلس التشريعي وأعضاء الحكومة والمحافظين رقم 11 لسنة 2004 وتعديلاته، وقرار بقانون رقم 12 لسنة 2020 بشأن تعديل قانون التقاعد العام رقم 7 لسنة 2006 وتعديلاته، موصياً بضرورة تعزيز سياسة الشفافية، التي بادرت الحكومة بانتهاجها في هذه المرحلة، والتأكيد على ضرورة الالتزام بسياسة النقاش مع المجتمع المدني عند اتخاذ أية تدابير او اجراءات أو تشريعات ذات علاقة في المصلحة العامة، لما لها من انعكاسات على إدارة المال العام، وذلك لدرء المخاطر الناتجة عن غياب المجلس التشريعي.

كما طالب الفريق الأهلي الحكومة بمراجعة قانون مكافآت ورواتب أعضاء المجلس التشريعي وأعضاء الحكومة والمحافظين رقم 11 لسنة 2004 بعد انتهاء الأزمة، آخذين بالاعتبار التوصيات التي تم تقديمها من الأطراف ذات العلاقة بما فيها توصيات الفريق الأهلي، إضافة الى مراجعة الآليات التي تم اتباعها لإصدار القرارين المذكورين، والمسؤولين عنها، دون الاخذ بالاعتبار سياسة الحكومة وحالة الطوارئ، وذلك لما ألحقته من ضرر كبير في حالة السلم الأهلي والأمن المجتمعي، وحالة التعافي فيما يخص موضوع الثقة بين المواطنين والمسؤولين.

وأشاد الفريق الأهلي بالتدخل السريع للحكومة لإلغاء القرارين استجابة لمطالبات وتوصيات المجتمع المدني، وذلك بعد شبهة قيام بعض الأشخاص بالتحايل لإصدار تشريعات تستهدف حصولهم على امتيازات خاصة أثناء حالة الطوارئ، مخالفين بذلك المبادئ التي تم تحديدها بقرارات الحكومة (طوارئ) ومخالفين الضوابط التي وضعتها في موازنة الطوارئ لهذا العام، والتي حددت آليات اتخاذ القرارات ذات الأثر المالي وألزمت جميع المسؤولين بضبط النفقات وترشيدها وفقا لخدمة مرحلة الطوارئ وهدفها، ما خلق حالة من الإرباك المجتمعي.

وفي بيانه، أكد الفريق الأهلي على جملة من المبادئ، مسطّراً أن القرارين المذكورين كانا مخالفين لقانون الطوارئ، لما فيهما من إهدار للمال العام، وإساءة لاستخدامه، ومخالفة لقانون موازنة الطوارئ الذي أكد على مبدأ التقنين النقدي، وفقا للأولويات التي يقرها مجلس الوزراء بناء على تنسيب من وزير المالية، كما أن العملية التي تم من خلالها إصدار مثل تلك القرارات بصورة تهدف لتحقيق مكاسب غير مشروعة لفئة محددة من مراكز النفوذ على حساب المصالح العامة، ويمكن أن تشير إلى وجود شبهة تحايل من قبل بعض الاشخاص المنسبين لهذين التشريعين، الأمر الذي أكد قانون الطوارئ على منعهما، وشدد العقوبات لكل من يستغل حالة الطوارئ لمصالحه الشخصية.

كما عرّج الفريق الأهلي أيضاً على ما ورد في القرار بقانون رقم (4) لعام 2020، بشأن إعفاء من عُين بدرجة وزير ويشغل رئاسة مؤسسة عامة ومن في حكمهم، من دفع اشتراكاتهم لصندوق التقاعد، وإعادة الاشتراكات التي دفعوها سابقا، كان من الممكن أن يحرم صندوق التقاعد والمعاشات من الاشتراكات والمساهمات والتي تبلغ بشقيها (من الموظف ومن الدولة) 22% من راتبه،. وبحسب التقديرات الأولية فإن هذا القرار كان سيعفي  عشرات من المسؤولين من دفع الاشتراكات، الأمر الذي سيحرم صندوق التقاعد من مبالغ ضخمة كانت ستستخدم للاستثمار، علماً أن صناديق التقاعد تعمل على جمع الاشتراكات من الموظفين للاستثمار بها، من أجل تعظيمها، لضمان دفع مستحقات المتقاعدين.

إضافة الى ذلك، ذكر البيان في متنه أن سيناريو إعادة الاشتراكات بأثر رجعي على مدى أعوام عديدة، سيضخم من عجز الصندوق، وسيجعله عرضة للإفلاس وغير قادر على دفع مستحقات التقاعد للموظفين. كما أن دفع المستحقات التقاعدية لمن استهدفهم القانون من الخزينة العامة، سيؤدي إلى زيادة النفقات، وبالتالي سيسهم في زيادة العجز في الموازنة، علما بأن موازنة العام 2020 تعاني من عجز مالي أكثر من 5 مليار شيقل، بحسب تصريحات رئيس الوزراء، وبالتالي كان المشروع سيلحق الضرر بسياسة الحكومة المعلنة بشأن ضبط النفقات.

علاوة على ذلك، أبدى الفريق الأهلي رؤيته إزاء القرار بقانون رقم 12 لعام 2020 والذي كان سيعمل على رفع سن التقاعد إلى 65 عاما، أي بزيادة 5 سنوات، وهو امتياز للفئة المذكورة، الأمر الذي كان سيعمل على تضخيم النفقات بشكل غير مباشر، حيث من المعروف أنه ومع تقدم سنوات العمل يزداد الراتب، وفي النظر إلى الفئة المذكورة فإن زيادة دفع رواتبهم لمدة 5 سنين إضافية، وما سيرافقها من زيادة للراتب لكل منهم، سيعمل على زيادة العبء المالي على الخزينة، سواء على صعيد الراتب، أو على صعيد المستحقات التقاعدية. ناهيك عن خلق واقع تمييزي ما بين فئات الموظفين العموميين لصالح فئة محددة من هم بدرجة وزير ويشغلون رئاسة مؤسسات حكومية غير وزارية.   

وكان الفريق الأهلي قد أثار مسبقاً موضوع صندوق التقاعدـ، وأصدر تقارير خاصة حول الوضع المالي للصندوق، وما يعانيه من عجز وديون لصالحه على الخزينة العامة، والبالغة أكثر من 8.2 مليار شيقل، وقدم توصيات ضرورية ولازمة لتعزيز إدارة الصندوق ومعالجة مسألة الديون المتراكمة، وضمان ديمومة عمله، الأمر الذي يتطلب إعادة مراجعة التوصيات ودراستها.

 

لقراءة البيان كاملا، اضغط هنا