2019 Activities

Civil Society Team: Government increase of development expenditure in education, health and social development sectors can enhance and localize public service quality

Civil Society Team: Government increase of development expenditure in education, health and social development sectors can enhance and localize public service quality

Ramallah – The Civil Society Team for Enhancing Public Budget Transparency held a session to discuss a paper it had prepared on development expenditures earmarked by the public budget to three ministries in the social sector, namely, the Ministry of Health (MoH), Ministry of Education (MoE), and Minister of Social Development (MoSD). The paper investigates development expenses, development dimensions, link to external financing, whims of the donor community, and impact of declining foreign aid on development expenditure. The Team called on the government to pay more attention to, prioritise, and increase government spending on development sectors. For the benefit of citizens, this ensures current and future improvement and localisation of government service provision, thus obviating the need for paying huge sums to purchase services from abroad. The Team also stressed the need to secure development expenses from the Palestinian Public Treasury and to reduce reliance on foreign support. Accordingly, the development process would no longer be dependent on donor vagaries.

Self-reliance in financing development expenditure is a priority

The session was well attended by a distinguished audience, including representatives of public institutions, line ministries, non-ministerial government bodies, oversight actors, civil society organisations, media outlets, and members of the Civil Society Team for Enhancing Public Budget Transparency.

The Coalition for Accountability and Integrity (AMAN) serves as the secretariat of the Civil Society Team for Enhancing Public Budget Transparency. Ms. Hama Zeidan, Manager of AMAN’s Advocacy and Social Accountability Unit, highlighted that a major portion of development expenses were financed by, and subject to the directions of, donor countries. Zeidan stressed the need for self-reliance in local revenues of the Public Treasury to gradually finance development expenditure. Development financing should be scaled up to make a development breakthrough.

In his review of the paper, Researcher Mseif Mseif explained that development expenses were different from current, operating, transfer or capital expenses. Development expenses are distinctive of a useful life and have a development dimension. Long-term promising proceeds of development expenditure include profit generation, rising employment, increasing fixed capital formation (investment), or indirect proceeds of improved economic and social infrastructure, enhanced business environment, and rehabilitated infrastructure.

Instead of rising, development expenses have dropped from 40 to 25 percent since 2007

The paper highlights a set of substantial differences in data, development budgeting mechanisms, and inadequate budget ceilings. Current expenses account for the bulk of budget allocations. The paper also provides a review of the current context of development expenses from the perspective of the Palestinian public budget. According to the distribution of budget line items, development expenses are not contingent, no matter how necessary they are. Financing mainly relies on foreign support, a major portion of which is designated for development expenditure. During the sessions, discussants emphasised that foreign support has declined steeply since 2007, negatively impacting the development expenditure account. This gap has not be replenished from local resources or from outside the tax revenue fund. Tax revenues did not cover the financing gap in development expenditure. According to Researcher Mseif, short finance is attributed to dwindling foreign grants and aid, clearly reflecting on the social sector. For example, the health sector has seen a financing gap, which has affected both development and current expenses. Many educational programmes and development projects of the MoE have also be suspended.

Participants also addressed the recent financial crisis of the Palestinian Authority (PA). The crisis has been compounded by a significant decrease in foreign aid over the past few years. In particular, US support came to a complete halt in early 2018. This decline has largely affected all projects and expenses of the social sector, especially in relation to humanitarian aspects.

A structural imbalance has resulted in a chronic deficit

The paper highlights a real problem associated with development ceilings in terms of value and commitment. These ceilings are essentially mediocre and inadequate to generate development and growth. Appropriations are not spent in full for designated purposes, resulting a financing gap and increasing arrears on the social sector. In addition to suspending future budget planning, this situation has inhibited the allocation of additional amounts to development expenditure.

According to the paper, development expenditure earmarked to the MoE were nil in 2015. Compared to less than 2 percent in 2016, development expenditure increased to 8 percent of the MoE total budget (92 percent of which covered current expenses). Worth noting is that current expenses of the Ministry are constantly on the rise. MoE spokesman recommended that the Ministry of Finance (MoF) secure executable financial ceilings for development projects over specific and clearly defined periods. In 2018, outstanding invoices in the amount of NIS 55 million were payable by the MoF to the MoE. In the health sector, current expenses increased by NIS 51 million between 2015 and 2018. This increase is incommensurate with the rising demand on medical services, nor does it match the growing number of the population. Development expenditure in the health sector is almost entirely absent. For five years, the MoH budget has seen a fixed development expenditure, standing at 5 percent – an insignificant proportion for an extremely important sector. This is all the more crucial after the recent PA decision on suspending patient transfers to Israeli hospitals and localising treatment at Palestinian health facilities.

The MoSD current expenses dropped by NIS 10 million between 2015 and 2018, negatively reflecting on poor and vulnerable households in the midst of a deteriorating economic situation. While estimations showed that approximately 200,000 households are in need, the MoSD provided monthly assistance to almost 112,000 households in 2018. Earlier, in 2014, the Ministry used to distribute cash subsidies to as many as 125,000 households.

نشاطات 2019

الفريق الأهلي: زيادة الحكومة للنفقات التطويرية في قطاعات الصحة والتعليم والتنمية الاجتماعية من شأنه أن يُحسن جودة الخدمات العامة ويوطّنها

الفريق الأهلي: زيادة الحكومة للنفقات التطويرية في قطاعات الصحة والتعليم والتنمية الاجتماعية من شأنه أن يُحسن جودة الخدمات العامة ويوطّنها

رام الله- عقد الفريق الأهلي لدعم شفافية الموازنة العامة جلسة لنقاش ورقة أعدها حول النفقات التطويرية في الموازنة العامة لثلاث وزارات من القطاع الاجتماعي (الصحة، التعليم، التنمية الاجتماعي)، هدفت الورقة إلى تشخيص طبيعة النفقات التطويرية وأبعادها التنموية ومدى ارتباطها بالتمويل الخارجي وأهواء المانحين، وأثر تراجع المساعدات الخارجية على الإنفاق التطويري، وطالب الفريق الحكومة بإيلاء اهتمام أكبر للقطاعات التنموية واعتبارها ذات أولوية وزيادة الإنفاق الحكومي التطويري عليها، لما يعود على المواطنين من من تحسين حالي ومستقبلي على جودة الخدمات الحكومية المقدمة للمواطنين وتوطينها، الأمر الذي يُغني عن دفع مبالغ ضخمة لشراء الخدمات من الخارج، كما شدد الفريق على ضرورة الانفاق التطويري من الخزينة العامة الفلسطينية وتقليل اعتمادها على الدعم الخارجي حتى لا تبقى مرهونة بمزاجية المانحين وأهوائهم.

الاعتماد على الذات في تمويل النفقات التطويرية أولوية

الجلسة التي حظيت بحضور مميز للمؤسسات العامة من الوزارات ومؤسسات غير وزارية ورقابية وعدد من مؤسسات المجتمع المدني والمؤسسات الإعلامية فضلا عن أعضاء الفريق الأهلي لدعم شفافية الموازنة العامة.

أشارت السيدة هامة زيدان مديرة المناصرة والمساءلة الاجتماعية في ائتلاف أمان وهو سكرتاريا الفريق الى التركيز على النفقات التطويرية التي يتم تمويلها في معظمها من الدول المانحة وتخضع لتوجهاتها مطالبة بضرورة الاعتماد على الذات فيما يتعلق بالايرادات المحلية للخزينة العامة في تمويل النفقات التطويرية وبشكل تدريجي، وتعزيز النفقات التطويرية التي تحدث فارق تنموي.

استعرض الباحث مسيف مسيف الورقة مُقدما شرحا لماهية النفقات التطويرية، وأنها مختلفة في طبيعتها عن النفقات الجارية أو التشغيلية أو التحويلية أو الرأسمالية، وهي تتميز عنها بالعمر الافتراضي والبعد التطويري التنموي، وعائدها الواعد على المدى البعيد، والتي تكون إما على هيئة أرباح أو زيادة في التشغيل أو زيادة التكوين الرأسمالي الثابت (الاستثمار)، أو على شكل عوائد غير مباشرة لها علاقة بتحسين البيئة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية وتحسين بيئة الأعمال من خلال تحسين البنية التحتية.

تراجع الإنفاق التطويري من 40%  في العام 2007 الى 25% بدلا من زيادتها

بينت الورقة في متنها مجموعة من الاختلافات الجوهرية في البيانات وآلية إعداد الموازنات التطويرية وضعف السقوف المخصصة لها، كون النفقات الجارية تستحوذ على الجزء الاكبر من مخصصات الموازنة، كما تعرضت إلى واقع النفقات التطويرية من وجهة نظر الموازنة الفلسطينية، وبينت أن هذه النفقات بحسب توزيع بنود الموازنة ليست طارئة مهما كانت ضرورية، كما أنها تعتمد بشكل أساسي على الدعم الخارجي الذي يخصص جزء كبير منها للإنفاق التطويري. وشدد الحاضرون على أن الدعم الخارجي شهد  تراجعا ملحوظا منذ العام 2007، ما انعكس سلبا على حساب الإنفاق التطويري أو تعويضه من الموارد المحلية أو من خارج صندوق الإيرادات الضريبية التي لم تغط فجوة النقص في التمويل لهذه النفقات، وأعزى الباحث ذلك الى تراجع المنح والمساعدات الخارجية ما أثر على القطاع الاجتماعي بشكل واضح، فمثلا شهد القطاع الصحي فجوة تمويلية كبيرة طالت النفقات التطويرية والجارية معا، كما توقفت العديد من البرامج التعليمية والمشاريع التطويرية لوزارة التربية والتعليم.

تطرق الحاضرون إلى الأزمة المالية التي تمر بها السلطة الفلسطينية مؤخرا وما رافقها من تراجع ملحوظ في المساعدات الخارجية سيما الأمريكية خلال السنوات الأخيرة إلى ان تم وقفها تماما بدءا من العام 2018، وما كان لهذا التراجع من أثر كبير على كافة مشاريع ونفقات القطاع الاجتماعي سيما ما يتعلق بالنواحي الانسانية.

خلل هيكلي في الموازنة أدى الى عجز مزمن

وبينت الورقة وجود مشكلة حقيقية في السقوف المخصصة للتطوير من حيث القيمة أولا، ومن حيث الالتزام بها ثانيا، وأنها هي بالأساس منخفضة ولا تكفي لإحداث تطوير ونمو، كما أنه لا يتم صرف كامل المخصصات لما تم تخصيصه، الأمر الذي أوجد فجوة تمويل وزاد من قيمة المتأخرات على القطاع الاجتماعي. وهذا الوضع أدى الى عدم تخصيص مبالغ اضافية للإنفاق التطويري، والى وقف عملية التخطيط للموازنات المستقبلية.

وفيما يخص وزارة التربية والتعليم العالي، فقد بينت الورقة أن النفقات التطويرية لها كانت معدومة في العام 2015، وفي العام 2016 كانت تشكل أقل من 2% من إجمالي النفقات، وتحسنت عامي 2017-2018 لتصل الى 8% من إجمالي نفقات الوزارة (92% نفقات جارية). مع ملاحظة أن النفقات الجارية في حالة زيادة مستمرة، حيث أوصى المتحدث باسم الوزارة وزارة المالية بأن تطرح سقوفا مالية قابلة للتنفيذ في مدد زمنية محددة وواضحة للمشاريع التطويرية حيث ذكر أن ما قيمته 55 مليون شيقل فواتير مستحقة للدفع من وزارة المالية لصالح وزارة التربية والتعليم في العام 2018. أما قطاع الصحة، فقد زادت نفقاته الجارية بين عامي 2015-2018 بقيمة 51 مليون شيكل، وهذه الزيادة لا تتناسب مع زيادة الطلب على الخدمات الطبية وزيادة عدد السكان، بينما هناك غياب شبه كامل للإنفاق التطويري في مجال الصحة، وقد شهدت موازنة وزارة الصحة ثباتا في الانفاق التطويري منذ 5 سنوات بما لا يتجاوز 5% وهي نسبة ضئيلة جدا لقطاع هام جدا سيما بعد قرار وقف التحويلات للعلاج في المستشفيات الاسرائيلية وتوطين العلاج في المستشفيات الفلسطينية.

أما فيما يخص وزارة التنمية الاجتماعية، فإن النفقات الجارية تراجعت بقيمة 10 مليون شيكل ما بين عام 2015 وعام 2018، وهذا بدوره أثر بشكل سلبي على الأسرة الفقيرة والمهمشة، وخاصة في ظل تراجع وتردي الأوضاع الاقتصادية، اذ يقدر عدد الأسر المحتاجة بحوالي 200 ألف أسرة، ولكن الوزارة تقدم معونات شهرية لحوالي 112 ألف أسرة في العام 2018، بعد أن كانت تقدم معونات نقدية لحوالي 125 ألف أسرة عام 2014.