Activities 2022

AMAN recommends that Gaza work permits in Israel be kept away from political rivalries and stresses the need for coordination between relevant ministries

AMAN recommends that Gaza work permits in Israel be kept away from political rivalries and stresses the need for coordination between relevant ministries

In a hearing session with the Ministry of Justice and Civil Affairs Authority in Gaza

AMAN recommends that Gaza work permits in Israel be kept away from political rivalries and stresses the need for coordination between relevant ministries

Gaza – The Coalition for Accountability and Integrity (AMAN) held a hearing and accountability session on the mechanisms for issuing permits to Gaza workers employed in the 1948 Palestinian territory. Widespread controversy has been sparked after the Ministry of Labour (MoL) in the Gaza Strip announced that 1,000 civil servants used permits to work in Israel. This has caused some confusion about the management of permit issuance and constantly raised a question about mechanisms for the selection of beneficiaries.

There was broad participation in the hearing session. In the presence of the Gaza-based MoL and Civil Affairs Authority (CAA), the session brought together representatives of a number of trade unions, human rights groups, and media outlets, as well as members of the public. These came in to ask the competent bodies about their applications and records or delayed responses to their complaints.

5,200 workers had permits out of 102,700 filed applications

Engineer Ihab al-Ghusein, MoL Undersecretary, stated that the Ministry had opened registration for work in the 1948 territory between November 2021 and late April 2022. At the time, general conditions were applicable. A worker had to be married and over 26 years of age. Applicants ought not to be an employee or have a steady income. They should not be under a travel ban according to a court order. In addition to holding a COVID-19 vaccination certificate, applicants should not be infected with the virus. Against this background, a total of 102,700 applications were submitted on the website. Of these, 5,200 workers received work permits.

Problems involving data lists due to poor coordination between relevant bodies

Commenting on the working relationship between the MoL and CAA, Al-Ghusein explained that the MoL had prepared and transferred lists of workers to the CAA. In line with the formal system, these lists are registered, audited, and approved online in tandem with publicly announced terms and conditions.

Al-Ghusein said that irregularities affected data lists. Some persons, who were registered as workers on the website, were staff of the Palestinian Authority or United Nations Works and Relief Agency (UNRWA). Others were owners of commercial premises or had a source of income. Media statements have caused confusion, reporting that 1,000 civil servants had access to permits. These infractions were an outcome of poor coordination between the MoL and CAA.

15 percent of humanitarian permits are assessed by the CAA

Engineer Iyad Nasser, CAA Chairman, asserted that the electronic database was outmoded and that work was proceeding on the development of the system. Of note, 15 percent, or 150 of 1,000, permits are issued to humanitarian cases. These are assessed by the CAA.

According to Nasser, 6,000 persons are under a security ban by the Israeli occupying authorities. The cases of these persons are being followed up with relevant CAA departments.

MoL: We will sort and separate work permits from economic needs

The hearing session generated discussion on applicants with coded commercial records. These do not have a terms of reference neither at the MoL nor at the CAA. Another problem arises from the classification of permits and separation of economic and commercial permits. Notably, the permits which used to be issued to all citizens fell under the category of “commerce”. Renewal of the permits of either category will not be an easy task. To tackle this problem, the MoL stated that, starting from 1 August 2022, it would convert economic permits to work permits, while at the same time maintaining all of worker benefits (work injuries, sick leaves, compensations, etc.).

Increased transparency and disclosure will enhance public confidence in government institutions

The session contributed to reducing  the simmering tensions across the Gaza Strip. AMAN recommended that this vital issue, which affects the public, be distanced from political rivalries and the current internal Palestinian political divide. AMAN said that affected persons had the full right to access services impartially, justly, and on an equal footing. To coordinate joint operations, AMAN emphasised the importance of holding periodic meetings and maintain a channel of communication between the MoL, CAA, and Ministry of Economy in the Gaza Strip. A standard computerised system needs to be in place, including updates to each name, in order to keep citizens posted on relevant developments and increase their confidence in government institutions. The latter will be committed to making information publicly available with a view to removing any potential contradiction or ambiguity.

According to Q1 2022 statistical data of the Palestinian Central Bureau of Statistics, there were some 250,000 unemployed persons in the Gaza Strip, reflecting the dire need for work. This is particularly the case in view of the significant minimum wage gap between the local and Israeli labour markets.

نشاطات 2022

أمان يوصي بتحييد ملف تصاريح عمال غزة الى الداخل المحتل من التجاذبات السياسية وضرورة التنسيق المشترك بين الوزارات المختصة

أمان يوصي بتحييد ملف تصاريح عمال غزة الى الداخل المحتل من التجاذبات السياسية وضرورة التنسيق المشترك بين الوزارات المختصة

في جلسة استماع ومساءلة عقدها ائتلاف أمان بحضور وزارة العمل وهيئة الشؤون المدنية في قطاع غزة

أمان يوصي بتحييد ملف تصاريح عمال غزة الى الداخل المحتل من التجاذبات السياسية وضرورة التنسيق المشترك بين الوزارات المختصة

غزة- عقد الائتلاف من أجل النزاهة والمساءلة (أمان) جلسة استماع ومساءلة حول آلية منح التصاريح لعمال قطاع غزة للعمل في الداخل المحتل، في ظل الجدل الواسع في الشارع الفلسطيني المتعلق بإعلان وزارة العمل في قطاع غزة عن وجود 1000 موظف عام على رأس عملهم يستفيدون من تصاريح العمل في الداخل، ما أشاع حالة من اللبس إزاء عملية إدارة منح التصاريح والسؤال الدائم حول آلية اختيار المستفيدين.

لاقت الجلسة مشاركة واسعة النطاق، بحضور وزارة العمل والشؤون المدنية في قطاع غزة، وعدد من النقابات والمؤسسات الحقوقية والإعلامية وعامة المواطنين الذين توافدوا لسؤال الجهات المختصة عن ملفاتهم وسجلاتهم أو المماطلة في الإجابة عن تظلماتهم.

5200 عامل من أصل 102,700 طلب مسجل

أفاد المهندس إيهاب الغصين وكيل وزارة العمل في قطاع غزة، أن الوزارة كانت قد فتحت باب التسجيل للعمل في الداخل منذ تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2021 ولغاية نهاية نيسان/ابريل 2022، وفق شروط عامة تمثلت بحينه في (أن يكون متزوجا، وعمره يزيد عن 26 عاما، ألا يكون موظفا، أو صاحب دخل ثابت، ألا يكون على مقدم الطلب منع قضائي من السفر، حاصل على شهادة تطعيم ضد فيروس "كورونا"، وغير مصاب في الفترة الحالية)، وعليه وصل عدد المسجلين على الرابط الالكتروني 102,700 طلب، منهم 5,200 عامل حصلوا على تصاريح عمل.

وجود إشكاليات في قوائم البيانات نتيجة ضعف التنسيق بين الجهات المختصة

وحول شكل العلاقة بين وزارة العمل والهيئة العامة للشؤون المدنية، أوضح الغصين أن دور وزارة العمل هو تحضير كشوفات العمال وتحويله للشؤون المدنية والتي تتم عبر التسجيل الإلكتروني وفق النظام الرسمي، ويتم تدقيقها واعتمادها وفقا للشروط والمعايير المنشورة.

وأفاد الغصين بدوره أنه توجد إشكاليات في قوائم البيانات، كون بعض الأسماء المسجلة على الرابط كعمال، منها من يعمل لدى السلطة أو الأنروا أو لديه منشآت تجارية أو مصدر دخل، ما أحدث اللبس في تصريح وسائل الإعلام حول حصول 1000 موظف عام على تصاريح، وهو ناتج عن ضعف التنسيق بين وزارة العمل وهيئة الشؤون المدنية.

15% من التصاريح للحالات الانسانية تخضع لتقديرات الشؤون المدنية

وبدوره، عقب المهندس إياد نصر، رئيس اللجنة المدنية  في هيئة الشؤون المدنية في قطاع غزة، على النظام الالكتروني للبيانات بأنه قديم، وأنه جاري العمل على تطويره. والجدير ذكره أن 15% من التصاريح أي 150 من كل 1000 تصريح، يتم منحها للحالات الإنسانية، وتخضع لتقدير هيئة الشؤون المدنية.

فيما أفاد نصر أن ملف الممنوعين أمنيا  6000 اسم منعوا من قبل الاحتلال، وجاري متابعة الملف مع ذوي الاختصاص في الشؤون المدنية.

وزارة العمل: سنصنف تصاريح العمال ونفصلها عن الاحتياجات الاقتصادية

كما أثارت الجلسة قضية المراجعين الحاصلين على سجل تجاري مُرمّز،إذ ليس لديهم مرجعية عند وزارة العمل أو هيئة الشؤون المدنية، إضافة الى مشكلة تصنيف التصاريح، والفصل بين تصاريح الاحتياج الاقتصادي، وتصاريح التجارة، علما أن التصاريح التي كانت تصدر سابقا لكافة المواطنين، كانت تصدر تحت بند (تجارة)، وأن تجديدها لإحدى التصنيفين، سيكون ليس بالسهل.

وردا على الإشكالية، أشارت وزارة العمل أنها ستبدأ بتحويل تصاريح احتياجات اقتصادية الى عمال، مع الاحتفاظ بكافة حقوقهم من (إصابات، إجازات مرضية، تعويضات، الخ) ابتداء من 1-8-2022.

زيادة الشفافية والإفصاح ستزيد من ثقة المواطن بالمؤسسات الرسمية

ساهمت الجلسة في تقليل حدة الأجواء المشحونة في القطاع، حيث أوصى ائتلاف أمان بتحييد هذا الملف الحيوي الذي يمس عامة المواطنين عن المناكفات السياسية وعن أبعاد الإنقسام الحاصل، مشيرا أن أصحاب القضية لهم كامل الحق في الوصول للخدمة بنزاهة وبعدالة، وفق مبدأ تكافؤ الفرص. كما شدد أمان على أهمية عقد الاجتماعات الدورية والحفاظ على قناة الاتصال بين كل من وزارة العمل هيئة الشؤون المدنية ووزارة الاقتصاد في قطاع غزة، للتنسيق في الجوانب المشتركة فيما بينهم، إضافة الى ضرورة وجود نظام محوسب موحد، يحتوي على التحديثات التي تُجرى على كل اسم، وذلك للحفاظ على اطلاع المواطنين بشكل دائم على التطورات الحاصلة على الملف، وزيادة ثقتهم بالمؤسسات الرسمية، مع ضرورة التزام الأخيرة بالنشر، لإزاحة أي تضارب للمعلومات أو عدم وضوح يمكن أن ينشأ.

وتشير الاحصائيات الى وجود قرابة ربع مليون شخص عاطلين عن العمل في قطاع غزة حسب احصائيات الربع الأول 2022 للجهاز المركزي الإحصاء الفلسطيني، ما يعكس حاجة العمل الملحة، خاصة في ظل الفجوة الكبيرة بين مستوى الحد الأدنى للأجور في سوق العمل المحلي وفي سوق العمل لدى الداخل.