2021 Activity

Criminalising gender-based corruption under the Anti-Corruption Law contributes to achieving justice and redress to disadvantaged groups in society

Criminalising gender-based corruption under the Anti-Corruption Law contributes to achieving justice and redress to disadvantaged groups in society

In a workshop held by AMAN and Women’s Center for Legal Aid and Counselling,

Criminalising gender-based corruption under the Anti-Corruption Law contributes to achieving justice and redress to disadvantaged groups in society

The Coalition for Accountability and Integrity (AMAN) and Women’s Center for Legal Aid and Counselling (WCLAC) held a workshop to discuss a draft report on A Review and Analysis of Anti-Corruption Legislation from a Gender Perspective. The report makes recommendations to improve and amend the Anti-Corruption Law as well as any relevant regulations and bylaws to be gender responsive and explicitly criminalise forms of gender-based corruption.

In her opening remarks, Ms. Intesar Hamdan, Director of Awareness Raising and Community Outreach, AMAN, highlighted shortfalls in legislation that should offer redress to Palestinian women, particularly in relation to the fight against corruption. Deficiencies also affect practice and enforcement of laws, which advance equity and access to justice for women in Palestinian society.

Criminalising forms of gender-based corruption by law

Ms. Fatima Da’na, legal researcher, presented the AMAN draft report, which provides a review of the Anti-Corruption Law and regulations, from the perspective of how responsive they are to human rights and gender. The review concluded that both the law and the regulations need to be amended so that they become gender responsive. To this avail, forms of gender-based corruption will be criminalised. For example, if committed by persons subject to the provisions of the law, sexual extortion reflects abuse of power when it is used by an employee to obtain sexual benefits. Sexual extortion falls within the framework of abuse of public office for personal purposes.

The report comes up with a set of recommendation. First and foremost, the law will provide a definition of moral corruption. This should cover aspects of gender-based corruption, such as sexual extortion, bribery, and harassment. The latter will be prescribed as an offensive act under the Code of Conduct for the Civil Service.

Ensuring deterrence by legislation

The report stresses the need to amend the Civil Service Law in force. To this end, an explicit provision will address sexual extortion and outline necessary disciplinary measures against offenders. A penalty will be prescribed for sexual harassment under the Anti-Corruption Law, Civil Service Law, and Penal Law, ensuring both a general and a special deterrent. Maintaining legislative harmony, the penalty of imprisonment and fine will be aggravated. An administrative disciplinary penalty will also be imposed on the perpetrators of this crime.

Introducing modern definitions 

The report highlights the need to create new definitions, including of sexual bribes and consequent penalties, under the Anti-Corruption Law. Another article will be introduced, laying out the meaning of discrimination. This includes any act carried out public staff in their capacity as persons in power, implying distinction, exclusion, or preference on the basis of race, colour, gender, religious, political opinion, disability, national origin, or social background. Discrimination can eliminate or undermine equal opportunities, treatment, employment, or professional career. In violation of the law, discrimination is designed to obtain personal, material, or immaterial benefits, privileges, or advantages for a third party. 

Mechanisms for protecting whistleblowers and witnesses in cases of corruption

The report also recommends that mechanisms for complaints on sexual extortion in civil service be adopted. Tools will be in place to ensure protection, confidentiality, and privacy of complainants in order to prevent reprisals. Penalties for breach of confidentiality will be prescribed, rolled out, and applied. In cooperation with gender units in the public sector, complaint handling units and internal control departments will be activated to address cases of sexual harassment. Protection and support networks will be created to raise awareness about mechanisms to address sexual harassment. Legal and psychosocial support services will be provided to complainants and/or victims. Processes will be put in place, taking account of the privacy of women whistleblowers, who report gender-based corruption crimes.

نشاطات 2021

تجريم أشكال الفساد المبنية على النوع الاجتماعي في قانون مكافحة الفساد يسهم في تحقيق العدالة والإنصاف للفئات الأقل حظا في المجتمع

تجريم أشكال الفساد المبنية على النوع الاجتماعي في قانون مكافحة الفساد يسهم في تحقيق العدالة والإنصاف للفئات الأقل حظا في المجتمع

في ورشة عمل نظمها ائتلاف أمان ومركز المرأة للإرشاد القانوني والاجتماعي

تجريم أشكال الفساد المبنية على النوع الاجتماعي في قانون مكافحة الفساد يسهم في تحقيق العدالة والإنصاف للفئات الأقل حظا في المجتمع 

رام الله- نظم الائتلاف من أجل النزاهة والمساءلة (أمان) ومركز المرأة للإرشاد القانوني والاجتماعي، ورشة عمل لمناقشة مسودة تقرير حول مراجعة وتحليل السياسات والتشريعات المتعلقة بمكافحة الفساد من منظور النوع الاجتماعي، والذي يهدف إلى تقديم توصيات لتطوير وتعديل قانون مكافحة الفساد وأية أنظمة ولوائح صادرة بموجبه، ليصبح مستجيبا للنوع الاجتماعي، ويجرم أشكال الفساد المبنية على النوع الاجتماعي بشكل صريح.

افتتحت الجلسة مديرة وحدة رفع الوعي والتواصل المجتمعي، السيدة انتصار حمدان، التي أكدت على وجود قصور في التشريعات التي تنصف المرأة الفلسطينية، خاصة تلك المتعلقة بمكافحة الفساد، إضافة الى وجود قصور في ممارسة وتطبيق القوانين الضامنة الى انصاف النساء وتحقيق العدالة لهن في المجتمع الفلسطيني.

التجريم بنصّ لأشكال الفساد المبينة على النوع الاجتماعي

استعرضت الباحثة القانونية، فاطمة دعنا، مسودة التقرير المعد لصالح ائتلاف أمان، والمتمحور حول مراجعة قانون مكافحة الفساد والأنظمة والتشريعات الناظمة لمكافحة الفساد من منظور مدى استجابتها لحقوق الإنسان والنوع الاجتماعي، حيث خلصت المراجعة الى أن القانون والأنظمة تحتاج الى جملة من التعديلات، كي تصبح مستجيبة للنوع الاجتماعي ومنها، ضرورة تجريم أشكال الفساد المبنية على النوع الاجتماعي، مثل تجريم الابتزاز الجنسي باعتباره أحد أشكال إساءة استعمال السلطة للحصول على منفعة جنسية من قبل موظف يشغل سلطة، في حال ارتكبت من قبل الخاضعين لأحكام القانون، كونه يأتي في إطار استغلال المنصب العام لأغراض شخصية.

خلص التقرير الى مجموعة من التوصيات، على رأسها ضرورة تضمين القانون تعريفا للفساد الأخلاقي،  بحيث يضمن تعريف الجوانب المتعلقة بأشكال الفساد المبنية على النوع الاجتماعي كالابتزاز الجنسي والرشوة الجنسية والتحرش الجنسي، إضافة الى إدراج التحرش الجنسي كفعل مناف للأخلاق في مدونة أخلاقيات الوظيفة العامة.

 

ضمان الردع في التشريع والنص

كما عرّج التقرير على ضرورة إجراء تعديل على قانون الخدمة المدنية الساري، بإدراج نص صريح بخصوص التحرش الجنسي، واتخاذ الإجراءات التأديبية اللازمة بحق مرتكبيه، وضرورة النص على عقوبة للتحرش الجنسي، في قانون مكافحة الفساد وقانون الخدمة المدنية وقانون العقوبات، لضمان الردع العام والخاص والانسجام التشريعي بين القوانين، بحيث يتم تغليظ عقوبة الحبس والغرامة المالية بالإضافة الى عقوبة إدارية تأديبه لمرتكبي هذه الجريمة.

استحداث تعريفات جديدة عصرية

أكد التقرير على ضرورة استحدات تعريفات جديدة كتعريف الرشوة الجنسية، والعقوبات المترتبة على ممارستها في قانون مكافحة الفساد، إضافة الى استحداث مادة أخرى تحدد ما يقصد بالتمييز في قانون مكافحة الفساد، والتي تشمل أي فعل يقوم به الموظف كونه صاحب سلطة يشمل في مضامينه أي تفريق أو استبعاد أو تفضيل يقوم على أساس العرق أو اللون أو الجنس أو الدين أو الرأي السياسي أو الإعاقة أو الأصل الوطني أو الأصل الاجتماعي، ويكون من شأنه إبطال أو إضعاف تطبيق تكافؤ الفرص أو المعاملة في الوظيفة او الاستخدام أو المهنة، بغرض الحصول على منفعة او امتيازات او مزايا شخصية مادية او معنوية غير مستحقة لصالحه شخص او كيان اخر مما يشكل انتهاكا للقوانين.

آليات تطبيق نظام حماية المبلغين والشهود في قضايا الفساد

وكما أوصى التقرير أيضا بتبني آليات لتقديم الشكاوى الخاصة بالتحرش الجنسي في الوظيفة العامة، وتوفير أدوات الحماية والسرية والخصوصية للمشتكي/ة للحيلولة دون الانتقام من المشتكي/ة، ووضع عقوبات في حال اختراق السرية وتعميمها والمحاسبة عليها، بالإضافة إلى تفعيل وحدات الشكاوى بالقطاع العام ودوائر الرقابة الداخلية لمعالجة قضايا التحرش الجنسي، بالتعاون مع وحدات النوع الاجتماعي، إضافة الى تشكيل شبكات حماية ودعم، تكون وظيفتها نشر الوعي حول التحرش وآليات التصدي لها، وتقديم خدمات الدعم القانوني والنفسي الاجتماعي للمشتكي/ة والضحايا، ووضع اجراءات تأخذ بعين الاعتبار خصوصية حماية المبلغات والمخبرات من النساء عن جرائم الفساد المبني على النوع الاجتماعي.