Activities 2022

Security clearance is a public policy and government bears responsibility for abolishing it

Security clearance is a public policy and government bears responsibility for abolishing it

Security clearance is a public policy and government bears responsibility for abolishing it

AMAN recommends that security clearance be eliminated along the lines of High Court of Justice rulings of 2012 and replaced by no conviction certificate of the Ministry of Justice

 

Ramallah – The Coalition for Accountability and Integrity (AMAN) held a discussion session on resurgence of the security clearance condition. The event brought together representatives of human rights groups, media institutions, Independent Commission for Human Rights (ICHR), Ministry of Interior (MoI), Preventive Security agency, Palestinian Bar Association (PBA), and a number of affected individuals.

 

A practice falling within the category of political corruption

In this opening statement, Mr. Issam Haj Hussein, AMAN Executive Director, cited the High Court of Justice judgement of 2012, which ruled for abolishing security clearance as a prerequisite to hold public office. According to the Court, security clearance was in conflict with the principles enshrined in the Basic Law. Haj Hussein indicated that application of the security clearance condition was so expansive as to cover access to public service. Security clearance has become pronounced following the internal Palestinian political divide. It has also affected access to, and renewal of, some permits and licences, formation of charitable associations, scholarships, licence to practice an occupation or trade, etc. Haj Hussein emphasised that the continued imposition of the security clearance condition reflected insistence on the violation of the Basic Law and democratic values. This practice falls within the category of political corruption, entailing abuse of power to obtain political interests, rather than work for the common good.

 

Attempts to legitimise the so-called “security clearance condition”

Advocate Bilal al-Barghouthi, Legal Advisor to AMAN, presented AMAN’s position with regard to the so-called security clearance. Al-Barghouthi explained that the term security clearance has been repeatedly used in some legislative acts passed by the Executive branch of government. The law making power is being abused to promote personal gains of the ruling party at the expense of the public interest. For example, the most recent Draft Regulation on the Licensing of Media Institutions of 2022 uses the phrase “no objection certificate issued by the Ministry of Interior” on 13 occasions. Again, many provisions on the employment of media workers and issuance of licences to media outlets place security clearance as a precondition to obtain permits and licences or access employment. The same approach was apparent in the Instructions on the Licensing of Scientific Research Centres No. 1 of 2018 (not published in the Palestinian Official Gazette). Issued forth by the Minister of Education and Higher Education, the Instructions require a certificate of good conduct by the MoI in order to license scientific research centres.

 

The security clearance condition runs counter to constitutional principles and norms

Al-Barghouthi made clear that the security clearance condition (no objection certificate) was in violation of many constitutional provisions of the Palestinian Amended Basic Law of 2003. Most notably, it impinges on the right to equality, principle of the presumption of innocence, right of equal access to public service, right to peaceful assembly, right to political participation, and right to freedom of economic activity. Continued enforcement of the security clearance condition is in contravention to judgements of the High Court of Justice (Administrative Court), which ruled that the approval of security agencies would not be considered to be a prerequisite to hold public office. Nothing under the 2005 General Intelligence Law and 2007 Preventive Security Law provides that tasks of either agency include approval of the appointments to public service or access to licences and permits. In addition, the fact that security actors’ recommendations to adopt security clearance as a precondition to hold public office undermines the foundations and principles of civilised societies, whose legitimacy is grounded in the rule of law. It also compromises citizens’ right to equality and equal access to public service.

Furthermore, there is no specific legal terms of reference that defines the meaning of the terms “security clearance, security approval, security vetting, or no objection certificate issued by the MoI”. The Palestinian body of legislation is devoid of any explicit definition of these terms. All that is mentioned under Palestinian regulations is the term “good conduct or good reputation,” which is utilised by the MoI as grounds to issue the no objection certificate. This practice has been used as an entry point to obtain approvals of the General Intelligence and Preventive Security agencies for granting that certificate. At the same time, no publicly announced or clearly defined terms or reference or criteria are in place so as to determine the conditions and standards to be fulfilled by persons, who apply for the certificate. As a result, there has been ample scope for using political affiliation and opinion as a main criterion and condition to grant or deny the no objection certificate. It has in part led to the proliferation of some forms of favouritism and nepotism in the context of access to this certificate. Allowing room for exploiting official influence to grant the document, security clearance constitutes a substantial breach of the principle of integrity in government, involves a form of political corruption, and impinges on the legal competence of the Ministry of Justice (MoJ). With security agencies interfering with public life, security clearance consecrates the concept of the police state.

 

Security clearance should be replaced by the MoJ-issued no conviction certificate

AMAN recommended that the security clearance condition need to be abolished by analogy with High Court of Justice rulings of 2012 and Council of Ministers’ decision of 24 April 2012. Wherever mentioned, security clearance should be replaced by the no convention certificate issued by the MoJ. The government will refrain from incorporating in security legislative acts any conditions, which require the provision of MoI-issued security clearance or no objection certificates. Vague and ambiguous legal provisions, which prescribe “certificates of good conduct”, will be removed. Wherever it is mentioned in regulations effective in Palestine, the phrase “good conduct” or “good reputation” will be replaced by “no conviction certificate”. Additionally, the Council of Ministers needs to instruct the MoI to cease to issue, and replace, certificates of good condition by the MoJ-issued no conviction certificate. This will be in compliance with the Council of Ministers’ decision of 24 April 2012, which provides for “suspending the requirement of security clearance for holding public office and accessing work permits.”

 

The security clearance condition is imposed for political considerations and interests

Advocate Mousa Abu Duheim, ICHR representative, stated that complaints filed to the ICHR indicated that applications for security clearance often get stuck between the General Intelligence and Preventive Security agencies. While one agency might refuse the application, the other would accept it, resulting in a situation of public uncertainty and recurrent procrastination. According to Abu Duheim, the majority of replies that cite reasons for the denial of certificates are verbal. Security agencies also give vague and unspecific reasons for rejections.

Advocate Ashraf Abu Hayyeh, Al-Haq representative, demonstrated that complaints lodged to Al-Haq were far from criminal records or no conviction cases. Most often, security clearance is premised on political considerations. Abu Hayyeh explained that the security clearance condition was stepped up in the aftermath of the internal Palestinian political divide. It has been based on personal discretion without any clear definition, luring security agencies into interfering with different aspects.

 

The MoI has not clearly defined the certificate of good conduct

In his comment, Advocate Iyad Matakh, Legal Advisor to the MoI, did not provide a clear definition of the certificate of good conduct. However, Matakh emphasised that the MoI did not place any constraints or conditions beyond the scope of law. The Ministry does not bear responsibility for rejecting, granting, or imposing the certificate of good conduct requirement. On the other hand, the certificate is required in certain contexts, such as scholarships, if the host country stipulates that Palestinian students present this document. This is also the case with immigration or visa applications. Rather than not at the behest of the MoI, the bylaws of some institutions further require the certificate of good conduct.

 

A phenomenon as pervasive as to affect judicial appointments

Advocate Mohammed al-Harini, PBA representative, stressed that the so-called security clearance condition exists and is codified by elaborate terms. Describing it as “a widespread phenomenon in Palestinian society”, security clearance has even affected appointments to the judicial office. The High Court disposed this case and ruled that security clearance was neither a condition precedent nor does it have a legal basis. However, some security agencies continue to use this condition. Certain ministries, such as the Ministry of Waqf and Religious Affairs, refrain from enforcing court decisions on, e.g. inheritance. According to the current understanding, inheritance is a matter that requires security clearance.

Al-Harini also indicated that the political level refused to appoint two of nine judges for political considerations. Of note, both judges passed examinations and fulfilled all the requirements included in judicial competitions. In other words, no other discretionary power is exercised after judges meet set conditions.

 

Restrictions on media institutions

Mu’ammar Orabi, representative of the Wattan Media Network, said the requirement of a certificate of good conduct for a licence was designed to place restrictions on media outlets. Constituting a grave violation of the freedom of expression, this condition reflects a systematic process to muzzle all free voices. The licence requirement and other constraints are unjustified and in breach of the Basic Law. Licences are exacted in the context of pressure on media outlets and civil society activists to control the content they present so that it is in line with the official narrative.

 

The security clearance condition reflects a public policy, for which the government assumes responsibility

In his comment, Dr. Azmi Shuaibi, Advisor to AMAN’s Board of Directors for Anti-Corruption Affairs, plainly rejected the so-called security clearance condition. According to Shuibi, the security clearance condition reflects a public policy, for which the government assumes responsibility. Chaired by Dr. Mohammed Shtayyeh, the Council of Ministers made a political decision that invalidated all provisions of the Declaration of Independence with regard to the establishment of a democratic state and placing security agencies above the law. Shuaibi highlighted that AMAN considered this issue as a political and national priority. AMAN will scale up its efforts in collaboration with civil society organisations to put pressure on the government to abolish the security clearance condition. The government will require that all state institutions comply with the abolition of security clearance and replace it by a certificate of no conviction issued by the MoJ.

نشاطات 2022

شرط الحصول على السلامة الأمنية سياسة عامة الحكومة تتحمل مسؤولية إلغائها

شرط الحصول على السلامة الأمنية سياسة عامة الحكومة تتحمل مسؤولية إلغائها

شرط الحصول على السلامة الأمنية سياسة عامة الحكومة تتحمل مسؤولية إلغائها

 أمان يوصي بضرورة إلغاء شرط السلامة الأمنية قياساً على ما جاء في أحكام محكمة العدل العليا الصادرة في العام 2012 والاستعاضة عنه بشهادة عدم المحكومية الصادرة عن وزارة العدل

 

رام الله –عقد الائتلاف من أجل النزاهة والمساءلة (أمان) جلسة نقاش حول تفاقم ظاهرة شرط الحصول على السلامة الأمنية، بحضور عدد من المؤسسات الحقوقية والإعلامية والهيئة المستقلة لحقوق الانسان "ديوان المظالم"، ممثلين عن وزارة الداخلية وجهاز الامن الوقائي، نقابة المحامين ونفر من الأفراد المتضررين.

أحد الممارسات التي تندرج تحت مفهوم الفساد السياسي

افتتح الجلسة السيد عصام حج حسين، المدير التنفيذي لائتلاف أمان بالاشارة الى قرار محكمة العدل العليا الصادر في العام 2012، والذي نص على إلغاء شرط السلامة الأمنية لتقلد الوظيفة العامة، معتبرة أنَّه يتعارض مع المبادئ التي أقرها القانون الأساسي. وأشار حج حسين الى اتساع المجالات التي طبق فيها شرط السلامة الأمنية لتشمل تقلد بعض الوظائف والمناصب العامة، والتي أصبحت جلية بعد الانقسام، وكذلك الحصول على بعض الأذونات والرخص أو تجديدها، وتشكيل الجمعيات الخيرية، والحصول على المنح الدراسية، واستصدار رخص الحرف والمهن وغيرها. مشدداً أن الاستمرار بفرض شرط الحصول على السلامة الأمنية ما هو الإ إمعانٌ في مخالفة القانون الأساسي والقيم الديمقراطية، وأحد الممارسات التي تندرج تحت مفهوم الفساد السياسي من حيث استغلال سلطة الحكم للحصول على مصالح سياسية وليس لاغراض تتعلق بالمنفعة العامة.

محاولات شرعنة ما يسمى "بشرط السلامة الأمنية"

واستعرض المحامي بلال البرغوثي، المستشار القانوني لائتلاف أمان، موقف أمان مما يسمى بالسلامة الأمنية، مشيراً بدوره أن ترداد اصطلاح السلامة الأمنية في بعض النصوص التشريعية الصادرة اليوم عن السلطة التنفيذية، في إطار استغلال صلاحية إصدار التشريع لتعزيز مكاسب خاصة بالحزب الحاكم على حساب المصلحة العامة ، ومن الامثلة على ذلك مسودة نظام ترخيص المؤسسات الإعلامية الأخير لسنة 2022، إذ وردت فيه عبارة "عدم الممانعة الصادرة عن وزارة الداخلية" أي "السلامة الأمنية" 13 مرة، وقد شملت العديد من الأحكام المتعلقة بتعيين العاملين في قطاع الاعلام ومنح الرخص للمؤسسات الإعلامية، من جديد مسألة السلامة الأمنية للحصول على الأذونات والتراخيص أو التوظيف؛ كما أن ذات التوجه بدا في تعليمات ترخيص مراكز البحث العلمي رقم (1) لعام 2018م (غير المنشور في الوقائع الفلسطينية) الصادرة عن وزير التربية والتعليم العالي آنذاك باشتراط الحصول على حسن السير والسلوك من وزارة الداخلية لترخيص مراكز البحث العلمي.

شرط السلامة الأمنية مخالف للمبادئ والقواعد الدستورية

واضف البرغوثي أن شرط السلامة الأمنية (عدم الممانعة) ينتهك العديد من الأحكام الدستورية المنصوص عليها في القانون الأساسي الفلسطيني المعدل 2003 من أبرزها، الحق في المساواة، ومبدأ براءة الذمة، والحق في تقلد الوظائف والمناصب العامة والحق في التجمع وحرية المشاركة السياسية، والحق في حرية ممارسة النشاط الاقتصادي. كما أن استمرار العمل بشرط السلامة الأمنية مخالف لقرارات محكمة العدل العليا "المحكمة الإدارية"، والتي اعتبرت أن موافقة الجهات الأمنية لا تعتبر شرطا لشغل الوظيفة العامة، كما لم يرد في قانوني المخابرات العامة لسنة 2005 والأمن الوقائي لسنة 2007 أن من ضمن مهام الجهازين الموافقة على تعيين الموظفين لشغل الوظائف العامة أو للحصول على تراخيص واذونات. إضافة لذلك، فإن اعتبار توصيات الجهات الأمنية باعتماد شرط السلامة الأمنية لتقلد المناصب والوظائف العامة يهدم الاسس والمبادئ التي تقوم عليها المجتمعات المتحضرة المستندة في شرعيتها لسيادة القانون، ويهدر حق المواطنين في المساواة وتكافؤ الفرص في تقلد الوظائف العامة .

كما أَّنه لا يوجد مرجعية أو تعريف قانوني محدد يعرف ويحدد المقصود من مصطلح "السلامة أو الموافقة الأمنية أو المسح الأمني أو عدم الممانعة الصادرة عن وزارة الداخلية"، حيث خلت التشريعات الفلسطينية من أي تعريف مباشر لهذا المصطلح، وجل ما ورد في تلك التشريعات استخدام مصطلح (حسن السير والسلوك أو حسن السيرة) التي يتم استخدامها من طرف وزارة الداخلية لإصدار هذه الشهادة؛ كمدخل للحصول على موافقة كل من جهازي المخابرات العامة والأمن الوقائي على منح تلك الشهادة، دون وجود أية مرجعية أو معايير معلنة وواضحة تحدد الشروط والمعايير المطلوب توافرها فيمن يتقدم للحصول على هذه الشهادة، وهو الأمر الذي فتح المجال واسعا لاستخدام الانتماء والرأي السياسي كمعيار وشرط رئيسي للحصول على هذه الشهادة أو رفضها، وأسهم في تفشي بعض مظاهر الواسطة والمحسوبية للحصول على هذه الشهادة، وأتاح المجال لاستغلال النفوذ الوظيفي في منح هذه الشهادات ويمس جوهريا بمبدأ النزاهة في الحكم بصفته يمثل صورة من صور الفساد السياسي، ويمثل تعدياً على الاختصاص القانوني لوزارة العدل وتدخلا من الأمن في مجريات الحياة العامة، ويكرس بالتالي مفهوم الدولة البوليسية.

ضرورة الاستعاضة عن شرط شهادة السلامة الأمنية بشهادة عدم المحكومية الصادرة عن وزارة العدل

أوصى ائتلاف أمان بضرورة إلغاء شرط السلامة الأمنية، قياساً على ما جاء في أحكام محكمة العدل العليا الصادرة في العام 2012، وقرار مجلس الوزراء الصادر في 24/4/2012، والاستعاضة عنه أينما ورد بشهادة عدم المحكومية الصادرة عن وزارة العدل، إضافة الى الامتناع عن تضمين التشريعات الثانوية أيَّة نصوص تفرض الحصول على السلامة الأمنية أو عدم الممانعة التي تصدر عن وزارة الداخلية؛ إضافة الى إزالة اللبس والغموض في النصوص التشريعية التي تضمنت النص على "شهادة حسن سير وسلوك" وضرورة استبدال عبارة "حسن سير وسلوك" أو عبارة "حسن السيرة" أينما وردت في التشريعات النافذة في فلسطين بعبارة " "شهادة عدم محكومية"، علاوة على ضرورة قيام مجلس الوزراء بمخاطبة وزارة الداخلية بالتوقف عن إصدار شهادة حسن السير والسلوك والاستعاضة عنها بشهادة عدم المحكومية الصادرة عن وزارة العدل التزاماً بقرار مجلس الوزراء الصادر بتاريخ 24/4/2012 القاضي بـ "وقف العمل بشرط الحصول على السلامة الأمنية لشغل الوظائف العامة والحصول على تراخيص العمل".

فرض شرط السلامة الأمنية لاعتبارات ومصالح سياسية

أشار المحامي موسى أبو دهيم من الهيئة المستقلة لحقوق الانسان أن الشكاوى الواردة لديهم تفيد أن طلبات السلامة الأمنية تعلق في الكثير من الأحيان بين جهازي الأمن الوقائي والمخابرات، فقد يرفض جهاز الطلب فيما يقبله آخر، الأمر الذي يضع المواطن في حالة بلبلة ومماطلة، ويكمل أبو دهيم أن أغلب ردود رفض اعضاء هذه الشهادة والتي تصل ديوان المظالم تكون شفوية أو لأسباب غامضة غير محددة من قبل هذه الاجهزة لعملية الرفض.

وأشار المحامي أشرف أبو حية من مؤسسة الحق، أن الشكاوى الواردة للحق هي بعيدة كل البعد عن السجل العدلي أو عدم المحكومية، وفي كثير من الاحيان تكون لاعتبارات سياسية، مشيرا أنه تكثف العمل بشرط السلامة الأمنية بعد الانقسام الفلسطيني على وجه الخصوص، وأصبح يُعمَل به وفق اجتهادات شخصية، بدون أي تعريف واضح، ما فتح شهية الأمن ليتدخل في مجالات مختلفة.

وزارة الداخلية لم تعط تعريفاً واضحاً لشهادة حسن السير والسلوك

وفي تعقيب للمحامي إياد متخ، المستشار القانوني في وزارة الداخلية، لم يعط بدوره تعريفاً واضحاً لشهادة حسن السيرة والسلوك، ومؤكدا أن وزارة الداخلية لا تضع اي عراقيل أو تشترط اي شروط خارج القانون وان الوزارة لا تتحمل مسؤولية رفض او قبول اعطاء حسن السيرة والسلوك أو فرضه، ومن جهة أخرى اشار الى أن هناك مجالات يتم طلب شهادة حسن السيرة والسلوك كمنح دراسية، في حال اشترطت الدول المستقبلة للطالب أن تكون بحوزته، كذلك الأمر في طلبات الهجرة أو منح تأشيرة الفيزا، كما أن هناك أنظمة داخلية لبعض المؤسسات تطلب هذه الشهادة وليس بناء على طلب من الوزارة.

ظاهرة مستشرية وصلت حد التعيين في الجهاز القضائي

فيم أكد المحامي محمد الهريني من نقابة المحامين أن ما يسمى بشرط السلامة الأمنية موجود ومقنن بتنميق المصطلحات، واصفا إياها "بالظاهرة المستشرية في المجتمع الفلسطيني"، وصلت حد التعيين في الجهاز القضائي، وبالرغم من أن المحكمة فصلت في هذا الخصوص، وأدرجت في حكمها أن السلامة الأمنية ليس شرطاً، وليس لها أي أساس قانوني، الا أن بعض الاجهزة الامنية تمعن في استخدامه، مضيفا أن هناك بعض الوزارات كوزارة الأوقاف تمتنع عن تنفيذ قرارات المحاكم بخصوص حصر الإرث على سبيل المثال، وهي من الأمور التي تشترط – وفقاً للفهم الحالي- شرط الحصول على السلامة الأمنية.

 كما أشار الهريني أن المستوى السياسي رفض تعيين قاضيين من أصل تسعة قضاة لأبعاد سياسية، بالرغم من اجتيازهم للامتحانات، واستيفائهم لكافة الشروط المدرجة في المسابقات القضائية، ما يعني أنه لا يوجد هناك أي سلطة تقديرية أخرى بعد اجيتازهم المطلوب.

التضييق على المؤسسات الإعلامية

أشار السيد معمر عرابي من شبكة وطن الإعلامية أن شرط الحصول على شهادة حسن السيرة والسلوك من أجل الحصول على ترخيص، يهدف الى التضييق على المؤسسات الإعلامية، ما يشكل انتهاكاً صارخا لحرية التعبير، وعملية ممنهجة لإسكات كل الأصوات الحرة، فنيل الترخيص والتضييقات الأخرى غير المبررة والمخالفة للقانون الأسياسي التي تطلب عنوة تدخل في إطار الضغط على وسائل الإعلام والنشطاء في المجتمع المدني من أجل الرقابة على المحتوى الذي يقدمونه، ولكي يكون متوازيا ومتوائما مع الخط الرسمي.

شرط السلامة الأمنية سياسة عامة مسؤولة عنها الحكومة

وفي تعقيب لمستشار مجلس إدارة ائتلاف أمان، الدكتور عزمي الشعيبي، وضح رفضه لما يسمى بشرط السلامة الأمنيةـ مشيرا أنه سياسة عامة مسؤولة عنها الحكومة، ومجلس الوزراء برئاسة الدكتور محمد اشتيه، أخضع بقرار سياسي، لاغيا بذلك كل ما ورد في وثيقة الاستقلال حول بناء دولة ديمقراطية ويجعل اجهزة أمنية فوق القانون. وأكد الشعيبي أن ائتلاف أمان ينظر للموضوع كأولوية سياسية ووطنية، وسيكثف جهوده بالتعاون مع مؤسسسات المجتمع المدني للضغط على الحكومة لالغائه وفرض الالتزام بقرار الالغاء على كافة مؤسسات الدولة والاستعاضة عنه بشهادة عدم محكومية تصدر عن وزارة العدل.