Activities 2022

Human rights groups and media outlets call on Prime Minister not to approve the Draft Regulation on Licensing Media Institutions

Human rights groups and media outlets call on Prime Minister not to approve the Draft Regulation on Licensing Media Institutions

Containing loopholes and restricting media freedoms,

Human rights groups and media outlets call on Prime Minister not to approve the Draft Regulation on Licensing Media Institutions

 

- The draft regulation vests a tripartite committee, including the Ministry of Information, Ministry of Telecommunications and Information Technology and Ministry of Interior, excessively broad and centralised powers, contrary to the principle of media freedoms

- Approval of the draft regulation runs counter to the Palestinian Declaration of Independence and Basic Law

- The draft regulation entitles the Minister of Information to suspend any Palestinian or foreign media outlet operating in Palestine

- The draft regulation is in conflict with Article 27 of the Basic Law, which confirms freedom of the media.

 

Ramallah: Human rights actors and media outlets called on Prime Minister Mohammad Shtayyeh not to approve the Draft Regulation on the Licensing of Media Institutions, which the government is in the process of passing. They called for initiating a dialogue with stakeholders, civil society organisations, human rights groups, and media institutions to agree on a body of legislation to regulate media work. Regulations will be consistent with the State of Palestine’s values enshrined in the Declaration of Independence and Amended Basic Law and sensitive to democratic values. They will uphold international obligations of the State of Palestine and contribute to building the future Palestinian State in the interest of serving the collective good.

Expressing concern about and denouncing the draft regulation, institutions were of the view that it was part of the items of legislation recently passed by the Executive branch of government. Mainly seeking to restructure the Palestinian political system, this body of legislation allows further Executive domination over commanding heights of the State and encroaches on institutions that protect democratic values and ensure the implementation of good governance principles in the Palestinian State administration. These values and principles are highlighted by the 1988 Declaration of Independence and constitutional norms set by the Amended Basic Law of 2003.

In a joint statement, institutions demanded that the Prime Minister call off the agreement on granting a licence to construct and operate a radio station. The Ministry of Telecommunications and Information Technology (MoTIT) is attempting to impose that station on media institutions.

Institutions highlighted that “ensuring the freedom, multiplicity, and independence of media outlets reflects respect for and protection of freedom of the press. Media freedom builds a firm basis for good governance and rule of law and promotes the principles of transparency, accountability, and participation in political, social, and cultural life.”

According to institutions, these “pieces of legislation damage the reputation of the future State of Palestine and its national project. They undermine the standing of the State of Palestine in relation to respect for human rights and values of freedom and democracy, causing a loss of international support and sympathy with the Palestinian right to self-determination in the face of the Israeli occupation. They also undermine Palestinian citizens’ confidence and dream of a modern State of Palestine, which upholds their fundamental rights and freedoms. Such legislation compromises Palestinian citizens’ willingness and aspirations of struggle for the freedom and independence of their State, which should embody their national project at this stage.” Institutions inquired about the “beneficiaries and stakeholders of such a regulation.”

Institutions indicated that the draft regulation was legally baseless. It puts forward provisions with no legislative references or authorisations, violating the principle of the hierarchy of legislation and rules of legislative drafting. The latter stress that secondary legislation passed by the Executive may not address legal provisions, which are not authorised by the Legislative Authority.

The draft regulation is also in contravention to the provisions of Article 27 of the Basic Law. This provisions emphasises that “[f]reedom of audio, visual, and written media, as well as freedom to print, publish, distribute and transmit, together with the freedom of individuals working in this field, shall be guaranteed by this Basic Law and other related laws. Censorship of the media shall be prohibited. No warning, suspension, confiscation, cancellation or restriction shall be imposed upon the media except by law, and pursuant to a judicial ruling.” Furthermore, financing resources of newspapers and all media means are subject to the scrutiny of the law, which is enacted by representatives of the people. This cannot be handled by a government regulation that entrusts the Ministry of Interior (MoI) with financial oversight. According to Article 4(3) of the draft regulation, the MoI is vested with overbroad powers that exceed those provided by effective Palestinian laws, including the Company Law and Law on Banks.

Article 18(2) of the draft regulation entitles the Minister of Information to suspend, and prohibit transactions with, any Palestinian or foreign media outlet operating in Palestine if they violate the provisions of Article 18(1), namely, the duty to respect the Palestinian identity and history and abstention from broadcasting any information material, which may jeopardise the Palestinian identity or compromise the Palestinian narrative. Notably, the terms “Palestinian identity and narrative” are unclear.

Institutions criticised the use of overbroad and loosely defined terms and expressions, which give wide discretionary powers to the tripartite committee, including the Ministry of Information, MoTIT and MoI. This would, subsequently, reduce the role of the judiciary, enable official authorities to place restrictions on media activity, and punish media institutions on moody and selective grounds. Foremost among these expressions are prohibitions imposed on media institutions and conditions to be fulfilled by the media content. These include, for example, “maintaining public order, public security, and requirements of the public interest”; “refraining from broadcasting any content that is immoral or incompatible with the values and principles of Palestinian society”; and “upholding the Palestinian identity and history and abstaining from broadcasting any information material, which may jeopardise the Palestinian identity or compromise the Palestinian narrative.”

Institutions highlighted that he draft regulation gave the tripartite committee excessively broad and centralised powers in contrariety with the principle of media freedoms, which contradict the principle of media freedoms. Restrictions and controls can only be placed on freedom of the press in consistence with internationally recognised standards and norms. For instance, the draft regulation prescribes conditions to be met by staff members of media institutions and websites. At most levels, these include the condition to obtain security clearance, prior approval of joint broadcasting between several media stations, and prior agreement of the Ministry of Information to the replacement of the manager or editor-in-chief of a media outlet. Also, all media institutions licensed in accordance with the provisions of the regulation are bound to provide the Ministry of Information with written employment contracts of the manager, editor-in-chief, and all media workers at the institution as a prerequisite for licensing.

According to institutions, despite the fact that it was used 13 times, the draft regulation did not define the concept of “no objection” certificate issued by the MoI. In line with the rules of legislative drafting, this term should have been defined under Article 1 (Definitions). In practice, the term “no objection’ is taken to mean security clearance or so-called good conduct certificate, which is issued by security agencies, namely, the Preventive Security and General Intelligence services. Testimonies and facts confirm that the issuance of this certificate is largely associated with political affiliation, contravening the principles of equality and non-discrimination enshrined in Article 9 of the Palestinian Amended Basic Law. It provides an entry point to, and constitutes a form of, political corruption in dealing with media outlets.

Institutions stated that representatives of stakeholders and human rights organisations had not been consulted when the draft regulation was prepared. According to the rules of legislative drafting approved by the Council of Ministers, representative bodies and community groups should be engaged when relevant laws are developed. Community consultations will be in place to ensure that all interests are represented within the regulation in question.

Institutions emphasised that approval of the draft regulation would run counter the Palestinian Declaration of Independence and Basic Law. It would also be in conflict with the international human rights conventions, which the State of Palestine acceded to without reservation. It would constrain functions of media institutions, curtail freedom of expression, adversely impact community safety, and exacerbate internal tensions.

Institutions called on the Council of Ministers to refer the regulation of media work to the Palestinian Journalists’ Syndicate, other media representatives, and human rights actors in the context of national consultations. This should produce the best formulations and templates that consolidate freedom of expression and media freedoms. Institutions further called for releasing and expediting the approval of regulations that enhance the values of transparency, democracy, and media freedoms, such as the Draft Law on the Right of Access to Information and Draft Law on the High Council of the Media.

 

Signatory institutions

Coalition for Accountability and Integrity (AMAN)

Independent Commission for Human Rights

Wattan Media Network

Raya Media Network

Filistiniyat

Palestinian Centre for Development and Media Freedoms (MADA)

Palestinian Initiative for the Promotion of Global Dialogue and Democracy (MIFTAH)

Al-Haq

Jerusalem Legal Aid and Human Rights Centre

Palestinian Journalists’ Syndicate

Women's Centre for Legal Aid and Counselling

Roles for Social Change Association (ADWAR)

Civil Commission for the independence of Judiciary and Rule of Law (ISTIQLAL)

Bihimmatkom Association for Youth with Disabilities

Palestinian Vision Organization

Teacher Creativity Centre

Human Rights and Democracy Media Centre (SHAMS)

QADER for Community Development

Palestinian Centre for Peace and Democracy

Rural Women’s Development Society

نشاطات 2022

مؤسسات حقوقية وإعلامية تطالب رئيس الوزراء بعدم إقرار مشروع نظام ترخيص المؤسسات الإعلامية

مؤسسات حقوقية وإعلامية تطالب رئيس الوزراء بعدم إقرار مشروع نظام ترخيص المؤسسات الإعلامية

يتضمن ثغرات قانونية ويقيد الحريات الإعلامية

مؤسسات حقوقية وإعلامية تطالب رئيس الوزراء بعدم إقرار مشروع نظام ترخيص المؤسسات الإعلامية

 

 المشروع يمنح لجنة ثلاثية مشكلة من وزارة الإعلام والاتصالات ووزارة الداخلية صلاحيات واسعة ومركزية جدًا تتعارض مع مبدأ الحريات الإعلامية

 إقرار هذا المشروع يتعارض مع وثيقة الاستقلال الفلسطينية وأحكام القانون الأساسي 

 مشروع النظام يمنح وزير الإعلام الحق في وقف عمل أيّ وسيلة إعلام فلسطينية أو أجنبية عاملة في فلسطين

يتعارض المشروع مع أحكام المادة (27) من القانون الأساسي التي أكدت على حرية وسائل الإعلام  

 

رام الله: طالبت مؤسسات حقوقية وإعلامية رئيس الوزراء محمد اشتية بعدم إقرار مشروع نظام ترخيص المؤسسات الإعلامية، التي تعمل الحكومة على اقراره، والبدء في نقاشات مع أصحاب المصلحة ومؤسسات المجتمع المدني الحقوقية والإعلامية للوصول إلى سلة تشريعات ناظمة للعمل الإعلامي، تنسجم مع قيم الدولة الفلسطينية المرسومة في وثيقة الاستقلال والقانون الأساسي المعدل، وتراعي القيم الديمقراطية وتحترم التزامات دولة فلسطين الدولية، وتساهم في الوقت ذاته في بناء الدولة الفلسطينية المنشودة تحقيقا للصالح العام. 

وأعربت المؤسسات عن قلقها واستهجانها من المشروع، معتبرة انه يأتي في سياق موجة التشريعات التي أصدرتها السلطة التنفيذية مؤخراً وتستهدف بالأساس إعادة تشكيل النظام السياسي الفلسطيني نحو منح المزيد من الهيمنة للسلطة التنفيذية على مفاصل الحكم، والانقضاض على المؤسسات التي تحمي القيم الديمقراطية وتضمن تطبيق مبادئ الحكم الصالح في إدارة الدولة الفلسطينية، وفقا لما أكدت عليها وثيقة الاستقلال في العام 1988 والمبادئ الدستورية الواردة في القانون الأساسي الفلسطيني المعدل للعام 2003.

وطالبت المؤسسات في بيان مشترك رئيس الوزراء بإلغاء اتفاقية منح رخصة إنشاء وتشغيل محطة اذاعية راديوية، تحاول وزارة الاتصالات وتكنلوجيا المعلومات فرض توقيعها على الوسائل الاعلامية.

وأكدت المؤسسات أن "ضمان حرية وسائل الإعلام وتعددها واستقلاليتها، يأتي ضمن احترام وحماية هذا الحق الذي هو أساساً للحكم الصالح، وسيادة القانون، وتعزيزاً لمبدأ الشفافية والمساءلة، والمشاركة في الحياة السياسية والاجتماعية والثقافية العامة".

وأضافت المؤسسات ان هذه "التشريعات تسيء لسمعة الدولة الفلسطينية العتيدة ومشروعها الوطني وتجعلها في مكانة دولية متردية فيما يتعلق باحترام حقوق الأنسان وقيم الحرية والديمقراطية ويفقدها بالتالي الدعم والتعاطف الدولي في حقها في تقرير المصير في مواجهة الاحتلال الإسرائيلي، كما يفقدها من جانب آخر ثقة المواطن الفلسطيني وحلمه بدولة فلسطينية عصرية تحترم حقوفه وحرياته الأساسية وتضعف بذلك رغبته وطموحه للنضال من اجل حرية واستقلال هذه الدولة باعتباره المشروع الوطني في هذه المرحلة"، متسائلة " من المستفيد وصاحب المصلحة من إصدار هكذا تشريع"؟

وأشارت المؤسسات الى ان مشروع النظام يفتقد للسند القانوني، وهو يضع أحكاما لم يرد فيها أيّة احالات أو تفويض تشريعي في هذين التشريعين، الأمر الذي يتعارض مع مبدأ هرمية التشريع وأصول الصياغة التشريعية التي تؤكد على عدم جواز معالجة التشريعات الثانوية الصادرة عن السلطة التنفيذية لأحكام قانونية لم تفوض من قبل السلطة التشريعية بمعالجتها. 

 ويتعارض المشروع  مع أحكام المادة (27) من القانون الأساسي التي أكدت على حرية وسائل الإعلام المرئية والمسموعة والمكتوبة وحرية الطباعة والنشر والتوزيع والبث، وحرية العاملين فيها، وحظرت الرقابة على وسائل الإعلام، بحيث لا يجوز إنذارها أو وقفها أو مصادرتها أو إلغاؤها أو فرض قيود عليها إلا وفقاً للقانون وبموجب حكم قضائي، كما أكدت ذات المادة على أن أية رقابة على مصادر تمويل الصحف وسائل الإعلام لا تتم إلا وفقا للقانون الذي يصدر عن ممثلي الشعب، وليس لنظام يصدر عن الحكومة تعهد فيه الرقابة المالية إلى وزارة الداخلية وفقا لما ورد في الفقرة الثالثة من المادة الرابعة من مسودة القرار ويتم منحها صلاحيات واسعة جدا في هذا الجانب تتجاوز عدد من الاحكام الواردة في التشريعات الفلسطينية النافذة كقانون الشركات وقانون المصارف.

 ومنحت الفقرة الثانية من المادة 18 من مشروع النظام لوزير الإعلام الحق في وقف عمل أيّ وسيلة إعلام فلسطينية أو وقف عمل أيّ وسيلة إعلام أجنبية عاملة في فلسطين ومنع التعامل معها في حال مخالفتها للفقرة (1) من هذه المادة (والمتعلقة بواجب احترام الهوية والتاريخ الفلسطيني وعدم بث أيّ مادة إعلامية من شأنها المساس بالهوية الفلسطينية أو المساس بالرواية الفلسطينية)، مع الإشارة إلى عدم الوضوح في مصطلح "الهوية والرواية الفلسطينية".

وانتقدت المؤسسات استخدام مشروع النظام صياغات وعبارات مرنة وفضفاضة تمنح صلاحيات تقديرية واسعة للجنة الثلاثية المُشكلة من وزارة الإعلام، ووزارة الاتصالات، ووزارة الداخلية، الامر الذي يُحد من دور القضاء لاحقا، ويمكّن الجهات الرسمية من فرض القيود على العمل الإعلامي، ومعاقبة المؤسسات الإعلامية بصورة مزاجية وانتقائية، ومن أبرز هذه العبارات ما ورد من محظورات على المؤسسات الإعلامية والشروط الواجب توافرها في المحتوى الإعلامي الذي تبثه، كـالعبارات التالية: "المحافظة على النظام العام والأمن العام ومقتضيات المصلحة العامة"، "عدم بث أيّ محتوى غير اخلاقي أو يتنافى مع قيم ومبادئ المجتمع الفلسطيني"، "احترام الهوية والتاريخ الفلسطيني وعدم بث أيّ مادة إعلامية من شأنها المساس بالهوية الفلسطينية أو المساس بالرواية الفلسطينية". 

ولفتت المؤسسات ان المشروع يمنح اللجنة الثلاثية المشكلة من وزارة الإعلام والاتصالات ووزارة الداخلية صلاحيات واسعة ومركزية جدًا تتعارض مع مبدأ الحريات الإعلامية، وضرورة عدم وضع قيود وضوابط عليها إلا بما يتفق مع المعايير والضوابط المتعارف عليها دوليا، مثال ذلك "تحديد شروط واجب توافرها في العاملين في المؤسسات الإعلامية والمواقع الالكترونية والتي تتضمن في معظم المستويات شرط الحصول على الموافقة الأمنية، ضرورة الموافقة المسبقة على البث المشترك بين عدة محطات اعلامية وضرورة الحصول على الموافقة المسبقة من وزارة الإعلام على تغيير مدير أو رئيس تحرير المؤسسة الإعلامية، إلزام جميع المؤسسات التي ترخص بموجب أحكام النظام تزويد وزارة الإعلام بعقود عمل كتابية لكل من المدير أو رئيس التحرير وكافة العاملين الإعلاميين في المؤسسة وذلك كشرط من شروط الترخيص".

وأضافت المؤسسات ان المشروع  لم يعرف مفهوم عبارة "عدم الممانعة" الصادرة عن وزارة الداخلية، رغم ايرادها ( 13) مرة، فكان من المفترض، ووفق أصول الصياغة التشريعية السليمة، أن يتم تعريفها في المادة الأولى (تعاريف)، لأن واقع الحال يشي بأن المقصود بعبارة "عدم الممانعة" هو السلامة الأمنية او ما يعرف بحسن السلوك، الذي يصدر عن الأجهزة الأمنية وتحديداً جهازي الأمن الوقائي والمخابرات، والتي تؤكد الشهادات والوقائع بأن منحها يعتمد بشكل كبير على خلفية الانتماء السياسي الأمر الذي يخالف مبدأ المساواة وعدم التمييز التي نصت عليه المادة (9) من القانون الأساسي الفلسطيني المعدل، ويمثل مدخلاً وشكلاً من أشكال الفساد السياسي في التعامل مع المؤسسات الإعلامية.  

وأكدت المؤسسات انه لم يتم مشاورة او اشراك الاجسام الممثلة لذوي المصلحة ومؤسسات حقوق الانسان لدى اعداد هذا المشروع، خلافا لما نصت عليه قواعد الصياغة التشريعية التي تم إقرارها من قبل مجلس الوزراء التي تشترط ان يتم اتباع منهج مشاركة الاجسام التمثيلية والفئات المجتمعية لدى اعداد القوانين الخاصة بها، وان يتم عقد مشاورات مجتمعية بهدف الوصول الى تمثيل كافة المصالح بهذه التشريعات.

وشددت المؤسسات على أن إقرار هذا المشروع يتعارض مع وثيقة الاستقلال الفلسطينية وأحكام القانون الأساسي الفلسطيني، ومع ما تضمنته الاتفاقيات الدولية لحقوق الانسان التي انضمت إليها دولة فلسطين دون تحفظ، ويساهم في الوقت ذاته في تقييد عمل المؤسسات الإعلامية والحد من حرية التعبير، الأمر الذي يؤثر سلباً على السلم الأهلي ورفع حالة الاحتقان الداخلي. 

ودعت المؤسسات مجلس الوزراء الى إحالة مسألة تنظيم العمل الإعلامي إلى نقابة الصحفيين وباقي الأجسام التمثيلية للعمل الإعلامي ومؤسسات حقوق الانسان، في سياق مشاورات وطنية بهدف الوصول الى أفضل الصيغ والنماذج التي تعزز حرية التعبير والحريات الإعلامية. اضافة الى المطالبة بالافراج عن التشريعات التي تعزز قيم الشفافية والديمقراطية والحريات الإعلامية؛ كمشروع قانون الحق في الحصول على المعلومات ومشروع قانون المجلس الأعلى للإعلام، والإسراع في عملية إقرارها. 

.............................

المؤسسات الموقعة:

الائتلاف من أجل النزاهة والمساءلة "أمان"

الهيئة الفلسطينية المستقلة لحقوق الانسان

شبكة وطن الإعلامية

شبكة راية الاعلامية

مؤسسة فلسطينيات

المركز الفلسطيني للتنمية والحريات الاعلامية - مدى

المبادرة الفلسطينية لتعميق الحوار العالمي والديمقراطي "مفتاح" 

مؤسسة الحق

مركز القدس للمساعدة القانونية

نقابة الصحفيين الفلسطينيين

مركز المرأة للإرشاد القانوني والاجتماعي

مؤسسة أدوار للتغيير الاجتماعي

الهيئة الاهلية لاستقلال القضاء _ استقلال

جمعية بهمتكم

مؤسسة الرؤيا الفلسطينية 

مركز ابداع المعلم

مركز إعلام حقوق الإنسان والديمقراطية "شمس"

مؤسسة قادر للتنمية المجتمعية

المركز الفلسطيني لقضايا السلام والديمقراطية 

جمعية تنمية المرأة الريفية