2021 Activity

Special mechanisms to be adopted by relevant ministries and government bodies to promote values of integrity, principles of transparency, and systems of accountability in implementing programmes targeting the integration of women and youth in the agricult

Special mechanisms to be adopted by relevant ministries and government bodies to promote values of integrity, principles of transparency, and systems of accountability in implementing programmes targeting the integration of women and youth in the agricult

In a discussion session held by AMAN with agricultural institutions,

Special mechanisms to be adopted by relevant ministries and government bodies to promote values of integrity, principles of transparency, and systems of accountability in implementing programmes targeting the integration of women and youth in the agriculture sector

Ramallah – The Coalition for Accountability and Integrity (AMAN) held a discussion session, entitled The Reality of Integrity, Transparency, and Accountability in Institutions Running Programmes Targeting the Integration of the Youth and Women in the Agriculture Sector. The session aimed at contributing to making equitable policies, particularly for integrating the youth and women in as an important and vital production sector as agriculture in Palestine. Participants made recommendations to decision makers on challenges to integrity, transparency, and accountability in the management and objectives of integration programmes.

The Palestinian agriculture sector contributes less than 8 percent to GDP

The session began with a presentation of some facts about the agriculture sector. Over the past decades, the Palestinian agriculture sector GDP contribution has sharply declined from 36 percent in the 1970s to some 8 percent in 2000. Studies show that this contribution has dropped even further. While agricultural imports from Israel amounted to US$ 362 million, Palestinian agriculture sector exports to Israel were just US$ 64 million towards the end of 2017. This is a ratio of almost 6 to 1 in favour of the occupying State.

Increase in government development expenditure allocated to agriculture: not a quantum leap, but a positive step

Dr. Bader al-A’raj, a researcher, reviewed highlights of the report he had compiled for AMAN. According to Al-A’raj, the report is more like a survey, aimed at examining integrity, transparency, and accountability systems in agricultural programme management. Run by a number of relevant line ministries and government agencies, these programmes are tailored to integrate the youth and women in the Palestinian agriculture sector. This investigation was done against the backdrop of the Agriculture Cluster Plan announced in April 2019. In March 2021, the government also announced an increase in public budget allocations to the agriculture sector in general, and agricultural development projects in particular. Al-A’raj explored the extent to which government institutions have translated public approaches and policies into concrete reality. He also assessed the amount of budget expenditures allocated to develop the agriculture sector.

The rise in public budget spending on the agriculture sector was “mediocre”. The actual amount of budgeted agricultural expenditure was merely US$ 65.5 million, or less than 1.2 percent, in 2021. However, the fact that over a half of the agriculture budget line items were appropriated to development expenses was a positive development.

Mechanisms for promoting the values of integrity, transparency, and accountability in programmes to integrate the youth and women in the agriculture sector are still limited

The report demonstrates that government plans and strategies, first and foremost the Agriculture Sector Strategy 2021-2023, stress the importance of the values of integrity, principles of transparency, and systems of accountability. Clearly, however, practice shows that relevant line ministries and government bodies continue to use inadequate mechanisms in programmes, targeting the integration of the youth and women in the agriculture sector.

The report recommends that special mechanisms be adopted by relevant ministries and government agencies with a view to strengthening the values of integrity, principles of transparency, and systems of accountability in managing and implementing programmes to integrate the youth and women in the agriculture sector. These public institutions will not only rely on ordinary mechanisms and methods of operation.

Response to, and raising awareness of how to file, complaints

When necessary, the youth and women targeted by agricultural programmes and projects can resort to complaint units at relevant line ministries and government bodies. However, these units are in need of further development and activation in order to provide effective complaint handling. The report recommends that principles of transparency need to be rejuvenated, particularly within compliant units and in relation to complaint handling mechanisms. Regular information campaigns should be launched to introduce the youth and women to these mechanisms as well as to the steps that need to be taken to file a complaint.

A code of professional conduct for agricultural workers should be developed

The report also recommends that a code of professional conduct for the staff of government-run agricultural programmes. To target financing and support initiatives in particular, the code will provide detailed guidance on how to deal with the youth and women. Interaction should be professional, impartial, and without any form of discrimination or bias. The code of professional conduct will outline applicable procedures in the event of conflicts of interest.

Efforts should be coordinated and information exchanged between agricultural stakeholders

Engineer Ahlam Odeh, Director of the Civil Society Organisations Department at the Ministry of Agriculture, commented that efforts between the institutions working in support of the agriculture sector were fragmented. The National Employment Strategy and Youth Cross-cutting Strategy processes are poorly coordinated. Mr. Jamal Mubaslat, representative of the Economic and Social Development Centre of Palestine, stated that 16 institutions were active in the agriculture sector. However, there is no information flow between these organisations.

Double the incentives is needed to overcome the challenge of young people’s reluctance to work in the agriculture sector

Engineer Omar al-Titi, representative of the Union of Agricultural Work Committees, made a presentation on challenges to the youth and women’s willingness to work in the agriculture sector. In addition to employment inside Israel, a partisan attitude of some institutions wards off the youth and women from engaging in the agriculture sector. Also, mechanisms for protection of agriculture are unsecured as the sector lacks genuine support. The cost for undertaking an agricultural enterprise is excessively high since proceeds are so unrewarding to proceed with that enterprise. Al-Titi stressed that incentives should be provided to make the agriculture sector more desirable for the youth and women. Investment is also needed so that they build expertise.

Control is poor and the imbalance is top-down

Ms. Haneen Zeidan, representative of the Rural Women’s Development Society, indicated that the concept of the Palestinian countryside was not like it used to be earlier. A national plan, rather than random individual interventions, is needed to develop the agriculture sector. The imbalance is caused by the public policy, which embraces the free-market system. This has failed to protect national products, particularly agricultural produce, further discouraging the youth from working the land.

Ms. Lora Alajmeh, representative of the Ma’an Development Centre, explained that the problem lied with control over production inputs, including pesticides, needed equipment, and smugglers on the market. This reflects a gap in the role and functions of the Customs Police.

نشاطات 2021

ضرورة تبني آليات خاصة في الوزارات والمؤسسات الحكومية ذات العلاقة لتعزيز قيم النزاهة ومبادئ الشفافية ونظم المساءلة في تنفيذ البرامج التي تستهدف دمج الشباب والنساء في القطاع الزراعي

ضرورة تبني آليات خاصة في الوزارات والمؤسسات الحكومية ذات العلاقة لتعزيز قيم النزاهة ومبادئ الشفافية ونظم المساءلة في تنفيذ البرامج التي تستهدف دمج الشباب والنساء في القطاع الزراعي

في جلسة نقاش عقدها ائتلاف أمان بحضور المؤسسات العاملة في القطاع الزراعي

ضرورة تبني آليات خاصة في الوزارات والمؤسسات الحكومية ذات العلاقة لتعزيز قيم النزاهة ومبادئ الشفافية ونظم المساءلة في تنفيذ البرامج التي تستهدف دمج الشباب والنساء في القطاع الزراعي

رام الله- عقد الائتلاف من أجل النزاهة والمساءلة (أمان) وبحضور عدد من المؤسسات الرسمية والأهلية التي تعنى بالشأن الزراعي جلسة نقاش حول مسودة تقرير بعنوان: "واقع النزاهة والشفافية والمساءلة في المؤسسات التي تدير برامج الشباب والنساء الهادفة لدمجهم في القطاع الزراعي"، بهدف المساهمة في تحقيق سياسات عادلة لا سيما دمج الشباب والنساء في قطاع إنتاجي هام وحيوي كالقطاع الزراعي في فلسطين، من خلال تقديم توصيات لصنًاع القرار حول التحديات المتعلقة بالنزاهة والشفافية والمساءلة في إدارة هذه البرامج وأهدافها. 

أقل من 8% مساهمة القطاع الزراعي الفلسطيني في الناتج المحلي الاجمالي

استهلت الجلسة بعرض لبعض الحقائق في القطاع الزراعي، مع رصد تراجع كبير في مساهمة القطاع الزراعي في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الفلسطيني في العقود الماضية، إذ استمر بالتراجع من 36% في سبعينيات القرن الماضي إلى حوالي 8% في 2000، وتشير الدراسات إلى استمرار التراجع إلى أقل من ذلك. كما شكلت صادرات القطاع الزراعي الفلسطيني إلى "دولة الاحتلال إلاسرائيلي" حوالي 64 مليون دولار مع نهاية 2017، فيما كانت الواردات من القطاع الزراعي منه إلى الاقتصاد الفلسطيني حوالي 362 مليون دولار، أي بنسبة 6 إلى 1 تقريبا لصالح دولة الاحتلال.

الزيادة التطويرية في الإنفاق الحكومي المخصص للزراعي.. ليس نقلة نوعية ولكنه إيجابي

استعرض الباحث د. بدر الأعرج أبرز النقاط التي تناولها التقرير الذي أُعِدّ لصالح ائتلاف أمان، منوّهاً إلى أن التقرير المُعدّ أشبه بتقرير استقصائي، يهدف إلى فحص منظومة النزاهة والشفافية والمساءلة في إدارة برامج الشباب والنساء الهادفة لدمجهم في القطاع الزراعي الفلسطيني في عدد من الوزارات والمؤسسات الحكومية ذات العلاقة، خاصة بعد الإعلان عن خطة "العناقيد الزراعية" في نيسان 2019، والإعلان في آذار 2021 عن زيادة الإنفاق الحكومي المخصص للزراعة بشكل عام وللمشاريع الزراعية التطويرية بشكل خاص في الموازنة العامة للعام 2021، محاولا الاجابة على مدى ترجمة الحكومة ومؤسساتها المختلفة للتوجهات والسياسات العامة التي وضعتها على أرض الواقع، وحجم الإنفاق المخصص في الموازنات العامة لتنمية القطاع الزراعي.

تمثل الزيادة في الإنفاق المخصص من الموازنة العامة لقطاع الزراعة، "زيادة محدودة جدا"، حيث لا يتجاوز المبلغ الفعلي للإنفاق المخصص من الموازنة العامة لقطاع الزراعة 65.6 مليون دولار فقط، أي أقل من 1.2% من الموازنة العامة لعام 2021، إلا  أن تخصيص أكثر من نصف موازنة القطاع الزراعي للنفقات التطويرية يعدّ تطوراً إيجابياً.

آليات تعزيز قيم النزاهة والشفافية والمساءلة في البرامج التي تستهدف دمج الشباب والنساء في القطاع الزراعي ما زالت محدودة

أظهر التقرير أن الخطط والإستراتيجيات الحكومية وفي المقدمة منها "الإستراتيجية القطاعية للزراعة 2021-2023" قد اشتملت على نصوص ومواد تؤكد على أهمية تعزيز قيم النزاهة ومبادئ الشفافية ونظم المساءلة، لكن من الواضح في الممارسات أن الآليات الخاصة في الوزارات والمؤسسات الحكومية ذات العلاقة ما زالت محدودة في البرامج التي تستهدف دمج الشباب والنساء في القطاع الزراعي.

أوصى التقرير بضرورة تبني آليات خاصة في الوزارات والمؤسسات الحكومية ذات العلاقة لتعزيز قيم النزاهة ومبادئ الشفافية ونظم المساءلة في ادارة وتنفيذ البرامج التي تستهدف دمج الشباب والنساء في القطاع الزراعي، وليس فقط الاعتماد على الآليات والطرق الاعتيادية التي تتبناها هذه الوزارات والمؤسسات الحكومية المعنية.

ضرورة فحص مدى استجابة الصناديق للشكاوى ورفع الوعي بكيفية تقديم الشكاوى

يوجد وحدات للشكاوى في الوزارات والمؤسسات المعنية يمكن للشباب والنساء المستهدفين بالبرامج والمشاريع الزراعية اللجوء إليها عند الضرورة. ولكن هذه الوحدات بحاجة لمزيد من التطوير والتفعيل بنية الاستجابة للشكاوى، إذ أوصى التقرير بتطوير وتفعيل مبادئ الشفافية لا سيما وحدات وآليات الشكاوى وإطلاق حملات إعلامية منتظمة لتعريف الشباب والنساء بهذه الآليات وما هي الخطوات التي يجب القيام بها من أجل تقديم شكوى أو تظلم.

إعداد مدونة سلوك خاصة بالعاملين في القطاع الزراعي

كما أوصى التقرير أيضا بضرورة تصميم مدونة سلوك خاصة بالعاملين في البرامج الحكومية الزراعية وخاصة التمويلية والداعمة منها، تضمن إرشادات تفصيلية حول التعامل مع الشباب والنساء بشكل مهني ونزيه، وبدون أي شكل من أشكال التمييز أو المحاباة، وتوضيح ما يجب عمله في حال ظهور حالات من "تضارب في المصالح".

ضرورة تنسيق الجهود وتبادل المعلومات بين الأطراف ذات العلاقة في القطاع الزراعي

عقبت المهندسة أحلام عودة مديرة دائرة المنظمات الاهلية في وزارة الزراعة أن الجهود بين المؤسسات العاملة لدعم القطاع الزراعي متناثرة، وتعاني من ضعف في التنسيق في مجال اعداد وتنفيذ الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتشغيل أو الاستراتيجية عبر القطاعية التي تستهدف الشباب. فيما أفاد ممثل المركز الفلسطيني للتنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية، السيد جمال مبسلط، أن هناك 16 مؤسسة تعمل في القطاع الزراعي، الا أنه لا يوجد تدفق معلومات بين بعضها البعض.

التحديات أمام عزوف الشباب عن العمل في القطاع الزراعي تحتاج إلى محفزات مضاعفة لتذليلها

وقد استعرض المهندس عمر الطيطي من اتحاد لجام العمل الزراعي، التحديات التي تقف أمام ميول الشباب النساء نحو القطاع الزراعي كالعمل داخل "اسرائيل"، والحزبية عند بعض المؤسسات مما تحد من توجه الشباب للقطاع الزراعي. كما أشار بدوره إلى أن آليات حماية القطاع الزراعي غير مضمونة، إذ لا يوجد دعم حقيقي للقطاع، موضحاً أن تكلفة إنشاء مشروع زراعي عالية جدا، بينما يكون العائد غير مشجع للمضي قدما بالمشروع، مشددا على ضرورة أن يكون هناك امتيازات لترغيب الشباب والنساء بالقطاع الزراعي، والاستثمار بهم من أجل تكوين خبرة.

هناك ضعف في الرقابة و"الخلل من فوق"!

فيما أشارت السيدة حنين زيدان من تنمية المرأة الريفية أن مفهوم الريف الفلسطيني ليس كما كان في سابق عهده، يجب أن يكون هناك خطة وطنية للنهوض بالقطاع الزراعي، وليس تدخلات فردية عشوائية، فالخلل يأتي من السياسة العامة القاضية بتبني نظام السوق الحر، والتي لم تحمِ المنتج الوطني والزراعي بشكل خاص، الأمر الذي زاد من عزوف الشباب عن العمل بالأرض.

فيما أفادت السيدة لورا علاجمة من مركز معا التنموي أن المشكلة تكمن في الرقابة على بمدخلات الانتاج، كالرقابة على المبيدات، وتوفير المعدات اللازمة، وجود المهرب بالسوق، ما يعكس فجوة في دور وعمل الضابطة الجمركية.