2021 Activity

In a discussion session held on repealing Article 22 of the Code of Conduct for the Civil Service by the government, AMAN: We need comprehensive political reform, including elections and end to the internal divide

In a discussion session held on repealing Article 22 of the Code of Conduct for the Civil Service by the government,

AMAN: We need comprehensive political reform, including elections and end to the internal divide

Ramallah/Gaza – The Coalition for Accountability and Integrity (AMAN) held a discussion session on Decision No. 3 made by the Council of Ministers in early July 2021. The Decision provides for repealing Article 22 of the Code of Conduct for the Civil Service in the context of declining public freedoms, particularly freedom of opinion and expression, in Palestine. Most recently, some civil servants have been subjected to threats, which aimed at squeezing the space for freedom of expression. To this effect, verbal instructions or direct threats were issued, amounting to removal from civil service.

AMAN believes that the Code of Conduct for the Civil Service is a significant achievement to promote integrity and fight against corruption in the public sector. AMAN commended the role of the national taskforce, which developed the Code in 2012. In addition to advocating values and behaviours that civil servants must comply with, the Code includes rights ensured by the Palestinian Basic Law. AMAN views with grave concern the repealing of Article 22 of the Code: “Civil servants shall have the right to express and publish their opinion in speech, writing, or other means of expression, taking account of the legislation in force. When they express their opinion, comment, or participate on social media sites, civil servants must make clear that they represent their personal opinion only and do not reflect the view of the government body, at which there are employed.”

AMAN is of the view that the status of the Palestinian Basic Law should be restored. A comprehensive political reform programme should be implemented to revitalise democratic life in Palestine, engage all three powers, put an end to the internal Palestinian political divide, and protect freedoms. Without these, a chaos of decisions, amendments, and abuses of fundamental rights enshrined in the Basic and Law international conventions will continue unabated. AMAN also stressed the need to hold elections. Accordingly, governance will be based on participation. Serving as the source of legitimacy, the will of the people will be upheld. Through an elected legislative council, the government will be held to account for the suppression of freedoms.

Government decision is in conflict with the Basic Law and must be annulled

AMAN considers it necessary to repeal the Council of Ministers’ decision because it runs counter to the Basic Law, Declaration of Independence, Civil Service Law, and international conventions binding on the State of Palestine, including the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights. 

Participants generally agreed that the right to freedom of opinion and expression is inherent to the human person. The current situation will lead to a regrettable state of stifling public freedoms as well as further undermining and confiscating freedoms. It involves the executive encroachment and hegemony over all areas of life and turning further away from a peaceful transition of power, rather than holding elections and offering a glimpse of hope of a democratic political system.

Discussants highlighted the importance of redrafting effective legislation, including the Cybercrime Law and laws on the media. These will safeguard human rights, freedoms, and dignity.

Interlocutors expressed perplexity regarding the government, which justified that repealing Article 22 would promote freedom of opinion and expression. They emphasised a contradiction between the government discourse, decisions, and measures taken on the ground. The fact that Article 22 is repealed sends a message to civil services, placing restrictions on their opinion and reports on any potential irregularities or suspicions of corruption, which they probably witness.

Access to justice amid declining government integrity in the West Bank and Gaza

AMAN reiterated its call for a democratic system that will have proper respect for human rights and dignity. This system will be premised on the Declaration of Independence and Basic Law. An independence judiciary will be in place and accessible in the context of declining government integrity in both the West Bank and Gaza Strip to avoid the risk of relapsing into the quagmire of political corruption.

نشاطات 2021

خلال جلسة نقاش عقدها حول إلغاء الحكومة مادة 22 من مدونة السلوك الوظيفي ائتلاف أمان: نحن بحاجة لإصلاح سياسي شامل يشمل اجراء الانتخابات وإنهاء الانقسام

خلال جلسة نقاش عقدها حول إلغاء الحكومة مادة 22 من مدونة السلوك الوظيفي  ائتلاف أمان: نحن بحاجة لإصلاح سياسي شامل يشمل اجراء الانتخابات وإنهاء الانقسام

خلال جلسة نقاش عقدها حول إلغاء الحكومة مادة 22 من مدونة السلوك الوظيفي

ائتلاف أمان: نحن بحاجة لإصلاح سياسي شامل يشمل اجراء الانتخابات وإنهاء الانقسام

رام الله/ غزة: عقد الائتلاف من أجل النزاهة والمساءلة- أمان جلسة نقاش حول صدور قرار رقم (3) عن مجلس الوزراء في بداية تموز 2021، والقاضي بإلغاء المادة (22) من مدونة سلوك العاملين في الوظيفة العامة، في ظل حالة التراجع التي تشهدها الحريات العامة في فلسطين وتحديدا حرية الرأي والتعبير، وما تعرض له بعض موظفي القطاع العام في الفترة الاخيرة من تهديدات، هدفت الى تضييق مساحاتهم في التعبير، وذلك عبر تعليمات شفهية معممة أو تهديدات مباشرة تصل الى حد الاقالة من الوظيفة العامة.

يعتبر ائتلاف أمان مدونة السلوك الوظيفي إنجازاً هاماً لتعزيز منظومة النزاهة ومكافحة الفساد بالقطاع العام، مشيدا بالدور الذي لعبه الفريق الوطني الذي عمل على إعدادها في 2012، لما تضمنه من قيم وسلوكيات على الموظف العام الالتزام بها، وشمولها على الحقوق التي ضمنها له القانون الأساسي الفلسطيني. كما ينظر ائتلاف أمان ببالغ الخطورة لعملية إلغاء المادة 22 من المدونة "للموظف  الحق في التعبير عن رأيه ونشره بالقول أو الكتابة أو غير ذلك من وسائل التعبير مع مراعاة التشريعات النافذة، كما على الموظف عند إبداء رأيه أو تعليقه أو مشاركته على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي أن يوضح أنه يمثل رأيه الشخصي فقط ولا يعكس رأي الجهة الحكومية التي يعمل بها."

يرى ائتلاف أمان أنه ودون اعادة الاعتبار للقانون الأساسي الفلسطيني، والقيام ببرنامج إصلاح سياسي شامل، يعيد احياء الحياة الديمقراطية في فلسطين بوجود السلطات الثلاث وينهي الانقسام ويحمي الحريات فسوف تستمر فوضى القرارات والقوانين وتعديلاتها والانتهاكات لحقوق أساسية كفلها القانون الاساسي والمواثيق الدولية لكل انسان. كما شدد ائتلاف أمان على ضرورة إجراء الانتخابات، بحيث يكون الحكم بالمشاركة، وإعلاء الإرادة الشعبية التي تعتبر مصدر الشرعية، ومساءلة الحكومة عن مظاهر قمع الحريات من خلال مجلس تشريعي منتخب.

قرار الحكومة يتعارض مع القانون الأساسي ويجب الغاؤه

ويرى ائتلاف أمان ضرورة إلغاء قرار مجلس الوزراء المذكور لتعارضه مع القانون الأساسي ووثيقة الاستقلال وقانون الخدمة المدنية، والاتفاقيات الدولية الملزمة لدولة فلسطين مثل الميثاق العالمي لحقوق الانسان، والعهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية. 

وقد أجمع المشاركون على أن الحق في التعبير عن الرأي حق أصيل للإنسان، وإن ما يحدث هو الوصول الى حالة مزرية وخنق للحريات العامة، زيادة وإمعان في تقويض الحريات ومصادرتها، والمزيد من تغول للسلطة التنفيذية والهيمنة في كافة المجالات، مع الابتعاد عن التداول السلمي للسلطة، بدلا من إجراء انتخابات، وإعطاء المواطنين بارقة أمل في نظام سياسي ديمقراطي.

وقد أشار الحاضرون الى أهمية إعادة تصميم التشريعات التي ما زالت سارية المفعول مثل قانون الجرائم الالكترونية، والقوانين المتعلقة باللاعلام بحيث تكون حافظة للحقوق والحريات وكرامة الانسان.

وأعرب المشاركون عن استغرابهم من تبرير الحكومة من أن الغاء المادة 22 سيعزز من حرية الرأي والتعبير، مع الاشارة الى التناقض بين خطاب الحكومة والقرارات التي تصدر، والإجراءات التي يتم اتخاذها على أرض الواقع. وإن شطب المادة 22 يحوي أيضا رسالة للموظف تقيد إبداء رأيه والإبلاغ عن أية تجاوزات أو شبهات فساد ممكن أن تحدث أو يكون شاهدا عليها.

الاحتكام الى القضاء وسط حالة التراجع في نزاهة الحكم في الضفة والقطاع

وكرر ائتلاف أمان مطالبته بضرورة وجود نظام ديمقراطي يحترم الانسان وكرامته، يتم الاستناد فيه الى وثيقة الاستقلال والقانون الأساسي، وضرورة وجود قضاء مستقل يتم الاحتكام اليه وسط حالة التراجع في نزاهة الحكم في كل من الضفة والقطاع لوقف الانزلاق في مستنقع الفساد السياسي.