2021 Activity

Weak transparency, inadequate oversight, and lacking a government rationalisation and austerity plan worsens public budget deficit

Weak transparency, inadequate oversight, and lacking a government rationalisation and austerity plan worsens public budget deficit

In a discussion session held by the Civil Society Team for Enhancing Public Budget Transparency on widening and chronic public budget deficit

Weak transparency, inadequate oversight, and lacking a government rationalisation and austerity plan worsens public budget deficit

Ramallah – The Civil Society Team for Enhancing Public Budget Transparency (“Team”) organised a discussion session on the worsening and chronic public budget deficit. In the first half of 2021, budget deficit accounted for US$ 470 million in the light of continuing fiscal challenges facing the Palestinian government, ongoing Israeli piracy of clearance revenues, borrowing from banks, and growing public debt. This has adversely impacted the pension fund, service providers to the public sector, and structure of the public budget. The session aimed at coming up with recommendations and proposals to contribute to reducing public deficit and enhance public financial management.

Public Treasury loses over US$ 0.5 billion due to Israel’s policies and piracy

The session began with a thorough diagnosis of the fiscal deficit. Public debt amounted to US$ 3.6 billion, including US$ 2.3 billion in domestic debt and US$ 1.3 in external debt. In the Government Session No. 117, the Prime Minister stated that the Israeli occupying authorities have withheld clearance revenues and frozen prisoner allocations of some NIS 51 million a month, or NIS 612 million per annum. Between 2019 and July 2021, Israel withheld NIS 851 million of these appropriations. Furthermore, grants and aid have been on a downward trajectory (foreign grants and aid totalled NIS 245 million out of NIS 2.2 billion of estimated external financing on an annual basis; that is, 10 percent of estimated support). Financial liabilities owed by the Palestinian government were close to NIS 30 billion, including NIS 18 billion in arrears.

Discussants reviewed the Team’s vision, which assumes that improvement of domestic revenues requires the adoption of sustainable policies, reflecting the principle of tax justice. There are also avenues to increase revenues by addressing tax evasion. However, a major obstacle is created by fiscal leakage generating from Israel’s intransigence and theft. Multiple channels of fiscal leakage cause a loss of over US$ 0.5 billion.

Need to develop a comprehensive rationalisation plan for expenditure and improve the public budget structure

The Team is of the view that expenditures are still high. Public expenditure distribution to various sectors continues to be problematic. The security sectors has the lion’s share of expenditures. In 2020, spending on the security sector amounted to NIS 3.3 billion, or 21 percent of all public expenditure. Within the security establishment, promotions and appointments are maintained in spite of job inflation. Unnecessary and unjustified expenditures are identified, including petty cash in the security sector and annual honoraria in civil service. Consequently, a comprehensive expenditure rationalisation plan needs to be in place.

Need to suspend appointments and promotions in security agencies

In the midst of debate on the required action to emerge from the fiscal deficit crisis, participants stressed the need to adjust expenditure to available resources, without relying on foreign aid which has proven to be dwindling. Expenditure should also reprioritised while at the same time ensuring compliance with the 2021 Public Budget Law. More importantly, job inflation, wage bill, and salaries need to be addressed. Appointments and promotion within security agencies should be suspended. In the context of staff rotation, security personnel will be assigned to the Customs Police and Civil Police agencies.

Required action: Audit clearance invoices

Participants unanimously agreed that the root cause of the fiscal deficit is politically motivated. Clearance revenues are used as a bargaining chip to put pressure on the Palestinian Authority. The Team has suggested some solutions to eliminate once and for all net lending, which drains some NIS 1 billion per annum. To this end, mechanisms for accounting for the funds deducted by the Israeli side should be enhanced. In addition to auditing invoices, clearance deductions can only be processed in line with concluded agreements and understandings, particularly in relation to electricity. While invoices cannot deducted before they become due, line items will not be charged to net lending.

Investment in production sectors and increase of development expenditure

A gradual shift needs to be initiated from dominant operating expenses to development expenditure, which can help create a conducive investment climate. This will seek to expand domestic and foreign investment base, increase production, exports, and employment in agro-industrial production sectors, and scale up government domestic collection revenues.

Threat to sustainability of the pension fund

According to reports of the Coalition for Accountability and Integrity (AMAN), the total government debt owed to the pension fund stands for 50 percent, or NIS 9 billion, of all arrears. This poses a threat to the pension fund and affects its financial capacity to engage in investment and meet the obligation of paying pensioner benefits. The fact that the government has consistently failed to transfer civil servants’ subscriptions and government contributions to the Palestinian Pension Agency (PPA) has resulted in a dramatic surge in government debt to the pension fund, risking a collapse of the fund. These risks cannot not be disregarded. The government has attempted to conceal this debt by failing to disclose it in public debt data, which are supposed to include all government liabilities. This would show debt as if it were below the maximum limit permitted by the Public Debt Law. In reality, however, total government liabilities have overrun the legally prescribed threshold allowed by the law.

A remedy requires a government plan for rationalisation and austerity

The Team made a number of recommendations. Borrowing for financing current consumption expenses should be reduced. Borrowing under cumbersome conditions and at high costs will also be limited. Loans will be earmarked to viable investment and development projects that generate revenues capable of interest and principal debt repayments. Alternatively, loans will be reserved for infrastructure development projects with a view to promoting private investments that increase the economy’s productive potential, particularly in agro-industrial production sectors.

Through a policy intervention, a government plan will be devised to address the PPA debt stock of the Public Treasury to ensure sustainable functions of the PPA. This will also ensure the continued capacity of pension funds to pay pensions to subscribers on reaching retirement age, as well as regular full payments of subscriptions and contributions owed to retired civil servants. A plan will be developed to reschedule the debt overhang of the Public Treasury. Accordingly, debt can be paid over a number of years by making arrear or debt payments, taking account of interests on that debt in tandem with the provisions of the law.

نشاطات 2021

ضعف الشفافية والرقابة وعدم وجود خطة حكومية للترشيد والتقشف يفاقم من العجز المالي في الموازنة العامة

ضعف الشفافية والرقابة وعدم وجود خطة حكومية للترشيد والتقشف يفاقم من العجز المالي في الموازنة العامة

في جلسة نقاش نظمها الفريق الأهلي حول تفاقم العجز المالي والمزمن في الموازنة العامة

ضعف الشفافية والرقابة وعدم وجود خطة حكومية للترشيد والتقشف يفاقم من العجز المالي في الموازنة العامة

رام الله- عقد الفريق الأهلي لدعم شفافية الموازنة العامة جلسة نقاش حول تفاقم العجز المالي والمزمن في الموازنة العامة، والبالغ خلال النصف الأول من العام 470 مليون دولار،  وذلك على ضوء استمرار التحديات المالية التي تعاني منها الحكومة الفلسطينية، واستمرار قرصنة الاحتلال لأموال المقاصة، واللجوء إلى الاقتراض من البنوك وتفاقم الدين العام، وأثر ذلك على صندوق التقاعد والمعاشات ومقدمي الخدمات للقطاع العام، بما يشمل هيكلية الموازنة العامة، بغية الخروج بالتوصيات والمقترحات التي تساهم في خفض العجز العام وتحسين إدارة المال العام.

الخزينة العامة تخسر أكثر من نصف مليار دولار بسبب سياسات الاحتلال وقرصنته

استهلت الجلسة بتشخيص مستفيض حول العجز المالي، إذ بلغ الدين العام 3.6 مليار دولار (الدين محلي 2.3، والدين الخارجي بلغ 1.3 مليار دولار)، فيما أشارت تصريحات رئيس الحكومة في جلسة الحكومة رقم (117) إلى قرصنة الاحتلال لأموال المقاصة وتجميد مخصصات الأسرى البالغة حوالي 51 مليون شيقل شهريا، أي ما قيمته 612 مليون شيقل سنويا، واحتجاز 851 مليون شيقل منذ العام 2019 حتى تموز 2021، إضافة الى تراجع المنح والمساعدات ) بلغت المنح والمساعدات الخارجية 245 مليون شيكل، من أصل 2.2 مليار شيقل التمويل الخارجي المقدر في العام، أي ما نسبته 10% من الدعم المقدر(، في حين بلغ إجمالي الالتزامات المالية المترتبة على الحكومة الفلسطينية حوالي 30 مليار شيقل، من بينها 18 مليار شيقل  كتراكم متأخرات.

وناقش المجتمعون رؤية الفريق الأهلي أن موضوع تحسين الإيرادات المحلية بحاجة إلى ديمومة وتبني سياسات تعكس مبدأ العدالة الضريبية، كما أن هناك مجالات لزيادة الإيرادات، من خلال معالجة ظاهرة التهرب الضريبي، الا أن العائق الأكبر يتمثل بالتسرب المالي بفعل تعنّت وسرقة الاحتلال الاسرائيلي، ومجالاته المتعددة، والتي تخسر الخزينة العامة بموجبه أكثر من نصف مليار دولار.

ضرورة إعداد خطة شاملة للترشيد في مجال النفقات وتطوير هيكلة الموازنة العامة

يرى الفريق الأهلي أن النفقات ما زالت مرتفعة، ولا زال هناك إشكالية في توزيع النفقات العامة على القطاعات المختلفة، إذ يستحوذ القطاع الأمني على النصيب الأكبر من النفقات؛ حيث بلغ الإنفاق على قطاع الأمن خلال العام 2020 (3.3) مليار شيقل أي ما نسبته 21%، واستمرار الترقيات والتعيينات الجديدة في القطاع الأمني في ظل التضخم الوظيفي، ووجود نفقات غير ضرورية وغير مبررة كالنثريات في قطاع الأمن والمكافآت السنوية في القطاع المدني، ما يدعو الى ضرورة إعداد خطة شاملة للترشيد في مجال النفقات.

ضرورة وقف التعيينات والترقيات في الأجهزة الأمنية

في خضم النقاش، والذي دار بجله حول المطلوب فعله من أجل الخروج من أزمة العجز المالي، ضرورة تكييف النفقات وفق الإمكانيات المتاحة دون التعويل على المساعدات الخارجية التي اتضح انها في تضاؤل مستمر، وإعادة ترتيب أولويات الانفاق، والالتزام بما صدر في قانون الموازنة العامة 2021،  والأهم معالجة التضخم الوظيفي وفاتورة الرواتب والأجور، ووقف التعيينات والترقيات في الأجهزة الأمنية، إضافة الى العمل على تدوير الكوادر في الأجهزة الامنية، ورفدها لكل من جهاز الضابطة الجمركية والشرطة.

المطلوب: تدقيق الفواتير المتأتية من المقاصة

وقد أجمع المشاركون أن أصل العجز المالي سياسي، وأن المقاصة تستخدم كورقة ضغط على السلطة الفلسطينية، كواحدة من أدوات الضغط والمساومة. وقد قدم الفريق الأهلي بعض الحلول بغية العمل على التخلص بشكل نهائي من بند صافي الإقراض الذي يستنزف حوالي مليار شيقل سنويا، وذلك من خلال تحسين آليات احتساب الأموال المقتطعة من الجانب الإسرائيلي، وتدقيق الفواتير، وعدم الخصم من المقاصة إلا وفق الاتفاقيات والتفاهمات المبرمة، خاصة في مجال الكهرباء، وعدم خصم الفواتير قبل استحقاقها، وعدم تحميل بنود على صافي الإقراض.

الاستثمار في القطاعات الإنتاجية وزيادة النفقات التطويرية

ضرورة التحول التدريجي من سيطرة النفقات التشغيلية لصالح النفقات التطويرية التي تساعد على تهيئة مناخ للاستثمارات بهدف توسيع قاعدة الاستثمارات المحلية والأجنبية لزيادة الإنتاج والصادرات والتشغيل في القطاعات الإنتاجية الزراعية والصناعية، الامر الذي يساعد على زيادة إيرادات الجباية المحلية للحكومة.

خطر محدق على استدامة صندوق التقاعد

إن إجمالي الديون المترتبة على الحكومة لصالح صندوق التقاعد تشكل ما نسبته 50% من إجمالي المتأخرات، أي ما يقارب 9 مليار شيقل، وذلك بحسب ما تشيره تقارير ائتلاف أمان، الأمر الذي يشكل خطرا على استدامة الصندوق، ويؤثر على قدرته المالية للاستثمارات والالتزام بدفع مستحقات المتقاعدين. فاستمرار الحكومة بعدم تحويل اشتراكات الموظفين ومساهمات الحكومة إلى هيئة التقاعد، أدى إلى ارتفاع مديونية الحكومة لصالح الصندوق بشكل كبير، الامر الذي يهدد بمخاطر انهيار صندوق التقاعد الخاص بالعاملين التي لا يمكن تجاهلها، مع محاولة الحكومة إخفاء ذلك من خلال عدم إظهاره ضمن بيانات الدين العام التي يفترض أن تشمل جميع الالتزامات على الحكومة، الأمر الذي يظهر الدين أقل من الحد المسموح وفق قانون الدين العام، فيما رصيد الالتزامات المترتبة على الحكومة بالإجمال تجاوز الحد القانوني المسموح به وفق قانون الدين العام.

ضرورة المعالجة تتمثل بوضع خطة حكومية للترشيد والتقشف

رفع الفريق الأهلي عدد من التوصيات، تمثلت بالحد من الاقتراض لأغراض تمويل نفقات جارية استهلاكية، وكذلك الحد من الاقتراض بشروط صعبة وتكاليف مرتفعة. على أن تخصص القروض لمشاريع استثمارية وتطويرية ذات جدوى وعوائد قادرة على سداد أصل الدين والفوائد، أو لتطوير مشاريع البنية التحتية لتحفيز الاستثمارات الخاصة التي تعمل على زيادة الطاقة الإنتاجية للاقتصاد خاصة في القطاعات الإنتاجية الزراعية والصناعية.

إضافة الى وضع خطة حكومية عبر تدخل سياساتي لمعالجة ديون هيئة التقاعد العامة المتراكمة على الخزينة العامة لضمان ديمومة عمل هيئة التقاعد، واستمرار قدرة صناديق التقاعد على دفع الرواتب التقاعدية مستقبلا للمشتركين عند وصولهم لسن التقاعد، ولانتظام الدفع الكامل لقيمة الاشتراكات والمساهمات الخاصة بتقاعد العاملين، ولوضع خطة لجدولة الديون المتراكمة على الخزينة العامة بحيث تدفع على عدد من السنوات من خلال سداد المتأخرات أو الديون، وتأخذ بالحسبان الفوائد المالية على قيمة الدين وفقا لأحكام القانون.