2021 Activity

Government bodies and stakeholders in Gaza: efforts must be united to apply and disseminate safety measures effective in the West Bank

Government bodies and stakeholders in Gaza: efforts must be united to apply and disseminate safety measures effective in the West Bank

In a hearing organized by AMAN on licensing criteria of oil and Gaza companies

Government bodies and stakeholders in Gaza: efforts must be united to apply and disseminate safety measures effective in the West Bank

 

Gaza – The Coalition for Integrity and Accountability-AMAN held a hearing on rigorous licensing criteria applicable to oil and gas companies, covering also the stricter oversight and inspection measures launched following the Nuseirat fire that claimed tens of lives in the Camp. The purpose of the meeting was to promote integrity and reinforce procedures while participants agreed to standardize safety measures similar to what is applicable in the West Bank for citizens’ public safety.

Findings of investigation and oversight and licensing terms remain unpublished!

AMAN Coalition also contacted the investigation committees formed following the sorrowful accident since they have not yet published the findings of the technical investigation. It also monitored the subsequent formation of technical subcommittees, which – in turn – imposed severer oversight and licensing measures to fuel and gas companies. Due to non-publication of the measures, companies’ owners filed complaints that spanned a whole year following denial of renewal of their licenses. This situation resulted in a crisis that triggered engagement of government bodies and stakeholders around the same table to discuss each party’s obligations while ensuring integrity and compliance. The purpose is to protect citizens’ safety, which should come as the utmost important priority.

Efforts need to unite to apply and disseminate the safety measures applicable in the West Bank and Gaza Strip

Participants reached a major recommendation: unite efforts to apply safety measures effective in the West Bank. The same system shall be adopted and all parties must comply, including companies, to serve the public interest. Official and government bodies need to publish the compulsory standards and procedures, especially as relates to public procurement, tendering and award of bids in order to prevent any suspicion of conflict of interest between companies’ technical interests and governmental bodies’ interests.

The Palestinian Standardization Institute needs to play a stronger role in monitoring fuel reservoirs and tanks

AMAN Coalition also called for a stronger PSI role in monitoring fuel reservoirs and tanks. It also invited stakeholders to distribute roles in a more complementary manner among the Civil Defense, Ministry of Transport, Ministry of Local Government, and the Petroleum Authority. It highlighted the importance of disclosure of safety and security measures required from different stakeholders based on legal provisions. It additionally called for clear regulations of inspection, seizure, investigation, penalties and violations related to civil defense works. It underscored disclosure of these measures and regulations to the public and all stakeholders.

Weak oversight due to multiple regulations and systems

The Minister of Local Government explained that the main problem is weak oversight because of multiplicity of laws and regulations, which contradict with each other not to mention deviations in their implementation. He underlined the necessity to unify legal references of safety and security measures. He further confirmed that MoLG does not charge any fees or lump sums from companies on the inspections it performs.

The Civil Defense stressed on compliance with the law as the shortcut to ensuring citizens’ safety. It explained that companies do not conform to Palestinian Standard 157 of January 1997, noting it is in force in the West Bank.

Petroleum Directorate General at the Petroleum Authority stressed on the rigorous implementation of licensing procedures and inspection of gas and oil tanks. It considered the situation before this date a violation of public affairs that jeopardized citizens’ life. The Petroleum Authority explained how difficult it is to conduct full testing of the tanks in the Gaza Strip since most these tanks are weak. If tests are thoroughly conducted around 70-80% will be put out of business. Furthermore, there isn’t any government body capable of conducting the minimum testing and inspections to ensure safety. The same Authority mentioned that the technical committee adopted 24 out of 56 standards.

On their part, the Association of Petroleum Companies Owners stressed that the stakeholders are not against any safety measures because they actually abide by these measures. They claim their right to licenses to resume their work while oversight and inspection procedures can continue afterwards. They explained they endured huge losses, mostly the sums estimated for the tests and inspections. The Association also explained that the findings of the committee did not lead to any technical recommendations to improve the quality of their tanks.

AMAN shall follow up on this meeting’s recommendations to ensure they are applied in a manner that bridges the gap among the parties. It reiterated the need to comply with the values of transparency and integrity in addition to the necessity to publish the procedures imposed.

نشاطات 2021

الجهات الرسمية وأصحاب المصلحة في غزة: يجب توحيد العمل وفق اجراءات السلامة المعمول بها في الضفة الغربية ونشرها

الجهات الرسمية وأصحاب المصلحة في غزة: يجب توحيد العمل وفق اجراءات السلامة المعمول بها في الضفة الغربية ونشرها

خلال جلسة استماع عقدها أمان حول معايير التراخيص المعتمدة لشركات البترول والغاز

الجهات الرسمية وأصحاب المصلحة في غزة: يجب توحيد العمل وفق اجراءات السلامة المعمول بها في الضفة الغربية ونشرها

غزة- عقد الائتلاف من أجل النزاهة والمساءلة- أمان جلسة استماع حول معايير التراخيص المتشددة المعمول بها لشركات البترول والغاز وتشديد إجراءات الرقابة والتفتيش عليها، والتي بُدِئَ العمل بها بعد حادثة حريق النصيرات، التي أودت بحياة العشرات من سكان المخيم، وذلك بهدف تعزيز نزاهة المعايير والإجراءات المفروضة، إذ أجمع المشاركون على توحيد العمل وفق اجراءات السلامة المعمول بها في الضفة الغربية، لضمان تحقيق السلامة العامة للمواطنين.

نتائج التحقيق وشروط رقابية ومعايير ترخيص لم تنشر!

وقد تابع ائتلاف أمان بدوره لجان التحقيق التي تم تشكيلها على إثر الحادثة الأليمة، والتي لم تعلن نتائجها الفنية حتى اللحظة، كما رصد أيضا ما عقب ذلك من تشكيل لجان فنية فرعية، وضعت بدورها شروطاً رقابية متشددة ومعاييراً لترخيص شركات صهاريج الوقود والغاز، بدون نشرها أو الإعلان عنها، ما نتج عنه بعض التظلمات من أصحاب الشركات عليها واحتجاجهم على مدار عام كامل نتيجة عدم منحهم التراخيص اللازمة للعمل، الأمر الذي ولّد أزمة تطلبت مشاركة الجهات الرسمية وأصحاب المصلحة على طاولة واحدة لبحث المتطلبات الواجبة والالتزامات التي تقع على كاهل كل طرف لضمان نزاهة المعايير والالتزام بها، والتي تفضي الى سلامة المواطنين، وهي الأولوية التي تفوق جميع المتطلبات.

ضرورة توحيد العمل وفق اجراءات السلامة المعمول بها في كل من الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة ونشرها

وقد خرج المشاركون بتوصية أمان الرئيسية، والتي تفيد بتوحيد العمل وفق اجراءات السلامة المعمول بها في الضفة الغربية، بحيث يتم اعتماد نموذج النظام المطبق فيها، ومطالبة التزام وتطبيق جميع الأطراف لها، بما فيها الشركات، تأكيداً على المصلحة العامة، إضافة الى ضرورة التزام الجهات الرسمية بنشر المعايير الواجبة وكافة الإجراءات الخاصة بالشراء العام، وإجراءات الترسية، منعاً لإثارة أي شكوك قد تشير بوجود تضارب مصالح بين الشركات الفنية والجهات الرسمية.

ضرورة تعزيز دور هيئة المواصفات والمقاييس في وزارة الاقتصاد لمتابعة خزانات وصهاريج الوقود

كما طالب أمان أيضا بتعزيز دور هيئة المواصفات والمقاييس في وزارة الاقتصاد لمتابعة خزانات وصهاريج الوقود وتوزيع الأدوار بشكل تكاملي لكل من الدفاع المدني، ووزارة المواصلات، ووزارة الحكم المحلي، وهيئة البترول، وضرورة الإفصاح عن إجراءات السلامة والأمن المطلوبة من الجهات ذات العلاقة بالاستناد إلى المواصفات القانونية، إضافة الى ضرورة المطالبة بوجود لوائح قانونية واضحة تحدد إجراءات التفتيش والضبط والتحقيق والجزاءات والمخالفات الخاصة بأعمال الدفاع المدني، والإفصاح عنها للجمهور وللجهات ذات العلاقة.

ضعف الرقابة نتيجة تعدد اللوائح والانظمة

وقد صرح ممثل وزارة الحكم المحلي بأن المشكلة الرئيسية تكمن في ضعف الرقابة، حيث تتعدد اللوائح والقوانين والأنظمة مع وجود تعارض في بعضها وتجاوزات في التطبيق، مشيراً الى أهمية تنظيم وتوحيد المرجعية القانونية لإجراءات الأمن والسلامة العامة، كما أكد بدوره أن الوزارة أنها لا تتقاضى أية رسوم أو مبالغ مالية مقتطعة من المبالغ المدفوعة من الشركات لأغراض الفحص.

فيما شدد الدفاع المدني، أن الالتزام بالقانون أقصر الطرق لضمان سلامة المواطن، مشيرا أن الشركات غير ملتزمة بالمواصفة الفلسطينية رقم 157 كانون أول 1997، علماً أنها مطبقة في الضفة الغربية.

وقد أكدت الإدارة العامة للبترول في هيئة البترول ضرورة التشدد والصرامة في إجراءات منح التراخيص، والتأكد من فحص صهاريج الغاز والبترول، معتبرة الوضع السابق تعدٍّ على الشأن العام، وتعريض حياة المواطنين للخطر. كما أوضحت صعوبة تنفيذ الفحوصات كاملة في القطاع كون الصهاريج الموجودة في غزة ضعيفة، وفي حال تطبيق كافة الفحوصات سيتحتم إسقاط 70-80% منها، إضافة لعدم وجود جهة رسمية قادرة على إجراء الحد الأدنى من الفحوصات اللازمة لضمان السلامة الأمنية، مشيرة أن اللجنة الفنية قد اعتمدت قبول 24 مواصفة من أصل 56 مواصفة.

وبدورها، أكدت جمعية أصحاب شركات البترول أن أصحاب المصلحة ليسوا ضد إجراءات السلامة، وأنهم ملتزمين بها، الا أنهم يطالبون في منحهم التراخيص لمباشرة عملهم ومن ثم استكمال إجراءات الفحص والرقابة، موضحين أن الشركات تتعرض لخسائر كبيرة، أكبرها المبالغ المقدرة للفحوصات، والتي لا تنعكس نتائجها بتوصيات أو أعمال فنية تحسن من جودة الصهريج.

وسيتابع أمان بدوره كافة التوصيات التي خرجت بها الجلسة بغية تطبيقها، وجسر الهوة بين الطرفين، مشددا على نزاهة وشفافية المعايير والإجراءات المفروضة وضرورة نشرها.